ONO Platform a serious contender to take on Steemit

in #ono6 years ago

One of the biggest gripes that most content producers have with the Steemit ecosystem, is that after 7days your content is basically worthless. This is a double edged sword, it forces you to continually create new content to continue getting rewards, but it doesn't encourage you to create stellar or extremely good content.

I wrote an article a few weeks back regarding this, and it being a major stumbling block towards having A List creator such as very high ranking YouTubers coming on board. Why would someone come from Youtube that is getting a million views a month, and lifetime payouts for their content, to a system where after 7 days the payout stops.

ONO apyourto have taken this on board and has developed what they call "evergreen" content. So your content will forever earn for you. Something you post today, if it gets shared and upvoted in a years time, could go back to being a trending article.

This is going to be something that many high quality creators are going to find favourable, and it adds 1 more nail into the coffin of Steemit. I'm a big beleiver in Steemit, and I truely love it here, but its going to take some monumental steps to fix the place up and retain their creators.

If you haven't got your name down for an invite into the ONO eco-system, jump on here to register your interest, the system is due to launch in a few weeks.

gohba.handcrafts02.png

*shout out to @samueldouglas for the inspiration for this post

Sort:  

7 day payout vs evergreen payout is a feature , which if appears to be critical can be implemented / cloned from ONO.

In my humble opinion , a stronger signal ( atleast for me) would be if one of these projects starts getting eyeballs/engagements even at 1/2 the levels of steemit , if/when that happens it would be time to seriously look into one of these projects.

Till then , I am holding my chips..

Like we've discussed elsewhere, we'll have to see how this plays out in reality. Rather than being a problem for steemit, I'd see this as part of a cross-platform strategy that, if properly developed, could help content creators get a bit more for their work. You could use your ONO and steemit accounts to drive traffic towards each other, if nothing else. If this works as described, I imagine quite a few people will share expired content on ONO, then drop links to it in a comment below the original post "Like this post but can't upvote it? Well here's what you do..."

It will pay to look at what each system has that the other does not. If curation rewards are better here, then this gives you a way to encourage ONO users to create steem accounts (not that I'm saying it is - this was just an example). If content is evergreen on ONO, it gives you a reason to create an ONO account.

What I can't stress enough is that it isn't a zero-sum game. Upvoting something here doesn't stop you from doing the same on ONO, and vice versa.

Sounds like it will operate more like a FB operation with likes and dislikes. I read quite a bit of the white paper but not sure I understood it all. My impression was that fifty percent will go to operational functions with the other fifty percent into distribution of rewards. I am not sure this site does it or not because I've never powered down to withdrawal but they will charge a withdrawal fee that I think, if I read it right will be around twenty percent. Then there is converting yuan to US dollars and the value between those two. What I liked was it said sharing of headlines and news....which is something I am big into on another blog, so if that turns out to be correct it could be a good site for me. I sent in to join but will have to wait and see what that outcome will be. Another thing is they are all Asian and on this site at least some of these Asian guys can be hard to get along with, I don't think they like opinionated women.

I'd love to go over specifics with you, because my understanding of this is quite different to yours.

  • Yes, it will be more like facebook. But dislikes will cost you, so people (hopefully) won't used them frivolously.
  • Fifty percent of what? Of the inflationary print of 5 billion ONOT per year, about 80% goes to content rewards based on likes/shares/comments etc. Other costs are taken from a separate pool to content incentives.
  • No idea about a withdrawal fee, but I don't recall seeing anything about it in the white paper - will definitely ask though.
  • You should be able to buy ONOT with ETH if necessary - and it is supposed to be listed on a good number of big exchanges.
  • Invites will go out when international version launches.
  • Yes, lots of Chinese people on ONO. But the CEO is a woman, and she doesn't strike me as the kind of person to take shit from anyone! Also, there are lots of incentives for people to play nice, including avoiding attention from the super partners (of whom I am one), who have the ability to hide content on that blockchain.

I know the CEO is a woman she listed right at the top. I am also the type of person who doesn't tend to take crap from anybody either. Maybe she needed to respond because your next line of "there is a lot of incentive for people to play nice, including avoiding attention from the super partners (of whom I lam one) who have the ability to hid content" smacks of the same stuff that goes on here with using flagging as censorship" Who really would want to join another site with comments full of I love your post, that was such a interesting read, can't wait to see what you write tomorrow, you are such a inspiration....even if the information presented isn't accurate, they don't care they just want the money and those dealing out the money only want comments that agree with everything said.

Are they going to allow posting of main stream media news for discussion and debate?....that's my strong point as a blogger, and I have a very high trusted users reputation status doing such on Disqus, a big part of that is we all openly debate, agree to disagree and come back another day and see if we come together on something, outside of trolls who cause problems nobody gets censored for their views.

Ok, so I deserve to get smacked down for stating the obvious about Ke Xu.

I certainly won’t be censoring anyone for their views. Yes, it is a hybrid blend of centralised and decentralised approaches. But the super partners are elected democratically by the all ONO members - one account = one vote, and their decisions can be challenged via similar mechanisms. Is it going to be perfect? No. But the decision of what get’s hidden ultimately rests with the people.

Nor do I expect it to be free of debate and solely people pretending to like each other for upvotes. If people didn’t do that here, it won’t be like that anywhere. The censorship question is one that the super partners have discussed frequently already. I don’t intend to limit anyone’s ability to put their political and ideological views forward, so long as they do not cause undue harm to others. Given my background in philosophy, you know that I’m a big fan of people being able to disagree, but still be civil about it. That’s what I want to encourage. If people don’t like it, they can vote me out in October.

100% true. I can see each system having good points and bad points. The next 12-18months are going to be a massive learning curve on the systems, the games and how to play everything off each other.

Then evenually when @dan creates his Steemit 2.0 it'll all change again.

My biggest post here made $342, when STEEM was 12c
I powered up the payout, so that post is now worth around $4K.
The way I see it, more than 90% of the post's earnings have occurred after the payout window closed.

yeah I'm the same, my biggest post was around the same value, but steem wasn't as cheap at that time. I donated it all to Centrelink as ABB had just set it up for us all and I was all gung-ho about trying to build it into something huge

If you don't power down, the increasing SP cost of Mvests acts like an ongoing revenue source, even without increases in the steem price.
I think the problem with indefinite payouts is that it exacerbates the early mover advantage.
There are enough people complaining about having to compete with established authors as it is. Imagine if they had to compete against those authors' entire back catalogue.

First-mover advantage is a difficult area. In the early days of a network it drives adoption, and is used as a marketing tool for that very purpose. But if allowed to get out of hand, it limits the growth of the user base in the longer term. (That, and I'm pretty sure it's distinctly un-egalitarian).

It's like VC funding vs blue chip shares. You have to get more bang for your buck early on, or nobody's going to embrace the risk.

Agreed


No pain , No gain
Gotta break some eggs to make omelettes
other cliched risk related quotes

w.r.t. ONO specifically : China + Social media has an unshakable big brother color to it !!

You just need to win the war against yourself. You need to love big brother.

If I am able to win the war against myself it is highly unlikely that I will end up loving big brother.

Congratulations @gohba.handcrafts! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think "1 more nail into the coffin of Steemit" is a bit much, Steem (the blockchain) is going to strength to strength. The future remains unclear of course, but I would hardly be calling the death, let alone burial of Steem. It's especially rich given where you're posting!

That said, I don't disagree with posting about other rival blockchains and other interesting social technologies here like some do. The only reason why we're on Steem is because it works (mostly) and there's faith in it's value, in every interpretation of that sentiment.

The evergreen content issue is real though. I think it's just a "feature" at this point, I don't think it'll change. But a gripe for sure.

Hi @personz, Thanks for the detailed response. The problem you have highlighted here is the constant confusion between Steem and Steemit.
I have absolute faith in the Steem blockchain, its abilities and growth are very clear. But Steemit is a completely different kettle of fish. Steemit being the ecosystem that we are currently in, runs on the Steem chain.
The growth and survival of Steemit is a completely seperate issue to the growth and survival of Steem.

Thanks agai for taking the time to reply.

Very true, I true to be aware of that too, I assumed you were not, that was my mistake.

Given what you say I still hold my position. Steemit as a blogging platform (if that's what you mean?) is not by any stretch dead either.

I do agree, and I seriously do hope thats the case. I'd hate to see Steemit become the Myspace of crypto blogs.
I think the next 12-18months is going to reveal a lot and there will only be 1 major winner, that winner may not even be made yet, but there will be an Alpha site, then niche sites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17