Steemit OpenMic Week 88 Break Out The Crazy - Everywhere (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago


So this song, as you may have guessed, is about death. It’s extremely hard to get through without breaking down for me so I’m glad I only started to loose it at the end. A good friend of mine lost his best friend and uttered this phrase as he spoke of his loss - “You are everywhere now”. I thought it was one of the most beautiful things I had ever heard. They say that no new air is created. That we breathe in and out air that has passed from person to person through animals over seas and over continents. Over lifetimes. I thought what better way to honor death than in this way so I wrote this song. I also had recently seen a few shows about hauntings and reaching out to deceased loved ones through mediums. I heard how people have vivid dreams and often feel the presence of those they have lost. While the song wasn’t inspired by a specific personal experience of course I thought of my own experiences with death. Somehow the thought of them being everywhere was comforting. Somehow it seemed true.

-Katya
Break Out The Crazy

Everywhere

Where have you gone?
I cant hear you
The light flickered off
And I don't see you
But I feel you close
Are you somewhere there?
Somewhere in the air?
Somehow?

In a new place
Endless dawn and endless days
You are everywhere
You are everywhere
You are everywhere now

The wind sings your song
As the seasons change
Somedays seem too long
My hearts beating your name
In my dreams we laugh
I see your face my friend
And we make new plans
Even now

In a new place
Endless dawn and endless days
You are everywhere
You are everywhere
You are everywhere now

And I’m forever changed
By the grace of your joy
The notes of a symphony
Played from day you were born
The most beautiful sound
I hear You in the ocean's fury
It Celebrates your life
In all its glory

In a new place
Endless dawn and endless days
You are everywhere
You are everywhere
You are everywhere now

Big shout out to the awesome judges and folks responsible for keeping OpenMic alive and well! We don't know what we'd do without it.

@meno
@sound-legion
@krystle
@verbal-d
@passion-ground
and of course @luzcypher & @pfunk we love you!

Also big thank you to the folks over at @curie for always showing love and our new family over at @helpie for their constant support from day one. We're still learning the ropes on here but we swear it is through your motivation that we keep steemin'.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What a lovely song.

Thank you very much we appreciate the listen.

Am I among the first ones listening to this jewel? Ahh the vibes :) I love how modest and honest the whole setup is, so casual, almost felt the warmth. Heartfelt lyrics, so bittersweet, I've dealt with many missings (and mournings) that glides all around me still... and remain and linger...
this is just beautiful... and I have said this before but the way you blend harmonies is magic. All the best of lucks with your entry.

Priscilla! Thank you so much for the beautiful words and for taking the time to listen to our entry. This week we went with more of an emotional tune, sometimes you can't fight the urge to bring those feelings to the surface. And we had been meaning to record it so we're glad we finally got to.

It really touches some soul strings
And these days I am sorrowful not in mourning bit remembrance so found my way back here.

Hi breakoutthecrazy,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Going to have to listen to this one again. Greta lyrics and harmonies.

Listen as many times as you want ;)

Hi, I like your mini keyboard (yamaha reface), nice voice and harmony, interesting song, upvote !

finally, someone who knows! lol Thanks Luk!

Beautiful song and performance you guys! Your exit brought tears of empathy, Katya. .x

Thank you so much for the listen. I asked Chris to take that out as I was a little embarrassed but I suppose that's the job of a songwriter. Thank you so much for your kind words.

Oh man, oh man that chorus hit me in the gut like a battering ram! Oh the feels on that!

Wonderful song there!

Thank you Maverick! We tried to let the vibes take us on this one, Katya has a hard time singing it without crying but it worked out.

I would completely understand as it moved me so much as well just by listening to it.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been selected for curation by @isaria and has been upvoted with the @msp-music account as well as the @msp-curation account, and will be featured in @isaria's weekly music curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!

wonderful woooo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94