🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 85 - “Glass Homes” (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago

OpenMic85-Animation2.gif

What if we all lived in glass homes? Would we be more trustworthy and more trusting of others, if we were completely transparent with each other? Would we open up the doors, windows, and curtains, to let in even more light, more breeze, and more visitors? Would we stand naked in the sunshine, on occasion, allowing other people see us just as we are? I imagine so.

In this world, I imagine we would all be kind, open, and accepting, seeing that we all share common values. In this world, where everyone witnesses each other's actions, we would be honest, fair, and humble, seeing that we're all doing our best with what we have to work with. We would be virtuous in other people's eyes, as they see the good in us. We would be harmonious, seeing that neighbors make good company.

As it is now, I find myself indoors, ignoring my kids, looking instead at an enormous computer screen as I type this message. There's so much to say about the shadows of our home, the ceiling, the curtain, and the closed doors I hide behind. There's a feeling of guilt, shame, and awkwardness, reckoning with why I am living this way when I know so well the kids crave more of my attention. Maybe they'll settle for a movie, or a video game, but I know they deserve something more. They deserve their dad.

So I'll say about that much, and I'll let this song speak a little bit extra for me. Before I go, I'll share something special that inspires me:

If you could be loved, love, and be lovable.


“Glass Homes”

The Song


The Lyrics

in a neighborhood of glass homes
you could see that being bored is the norm
people sleeping until late in the day
people going to bed early

wearing their PJs
walking in circles
reading their newspapers
when they could be out making news

it’s outrageous
people living in cages
when the door is always open
there’s no sense in staying in

in a neighborhood of glass houses
you could see husbands ignoring their spouses
tuning out on their TVs
when they could be making babies

their kids are wasting their weekends away
zoning out in their video games
they could be climbing real trees
they’re scared they’ll get their hands dirty

it’s outrageous...

birds in their bird cages
and fish in their fish bowls
would like to get out more
but not these people

in this neighborhood the residents
would be putting up curtains
and locking themselves in
afraid other people will see them

it’s outrageous...


The Acknowledgements

I'm grateful to @luzcypher and @pfunk for bringing us the #openmic community challenge, week after week. This event lights me up. I appreciate this invitation to express myself creatively. And I honor the community-wide celebration of the arts. I feel encouraged by the growth I see in the people who participate in these events, including myself. Thanks to all of you for accepting me as a member of your tribe.

CabeLindsay-OpenMic85.jpg


This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

congratulations very good interpretation, I invite you to give a view to my first OpenMic post and support me: D and thanks in advance
STEEMIT OPEN MIC SEMANA 85 - Time in a Bottle by @maycorjerjes18

Your interpretation arose my spirit and i say the aim of education either by presentation of music, lyris or any form of teaching is the knowledge, not of facts, but of values. So therefore common value we brought to steemit is an objective of gaining from one another via our profession or our talent.

Thanks @cabelindsay on this one

Some friends of mine In Panamá built wooden structures and just covered them in mesh for mosquito protection but they are completely see through. I have to say they aren't exactly over looked hehe but apart from the nature and when u are inside it's so beautiful because u see everything the jungle and its beauty. If we lived in see through homes, we would probably take more care of our environment and try to preserve its natural beauty. I would like that visión for sure!

Really deep words, they touch my soul. The part with you being in front of the monitor... you just describe me. Thank's for your post, you did a great job!

Thanks for relating with me, brother. Means so much to me. Wishing you a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85