Steemit Openmic Week 88 - Golden Light Cafe (Original)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Golden Light Cafe

Here's how this song came about.
I was traveling round trip from Las Vegas to Nashville and was a little low on funds. So I had to choose between a room or food this particular day. Waking up in my car in a truck stop outside of Amarillo, TX I decided to grab a bite to eat.

I walked into this diner, a 50's diner where neither the wallpaper nor the waitresses seemed to have changed since the 50's. But like most greasy spoon diners along the interstate, the food was solid. There were these old pictures of employees and customers tacked up on a board in one area. I kept thinking about those pictures after I left.

Fast forward a week later. I'm on the back end of my round trip. I got into Vegas pretty late. Abuzz with the rumblings of the road and too much truck stop coffee, I decided to stop in for a nightcap at a late night haunt.

There was a bartender behind the bar who was really witty and funny. We got into conversation. He talked about how he had always thought that he would be a comedian. He always thought that he would be on tv, ...thought he would be, thought he could be. Yet here he was apparently in at the same spot he'd been for years still talking about what might have been.

I told him that he wasn't dead yet parted and I hope to not see him again if I ever come back through.

I left now abuzz with a cocktail and too much coffee. So inspired by the conversation and the diner, I wrote this song.

IMG_0725(2).jpg
(Menu from the diner)

GOLDEN LIGHT CAFÉ
Carl John

A porcelain doll is beautiful but at the age of 43
Tan lines from a neon sign left her faded with her dreams
She wasn't gonna rust there like the city limit sign
Stuck somewhere in neutral between the bourbon and the wine

But time goes by getting ready to fly living too afraid to fall
And in an autumn frost a whole life lost
Just a photo on the wall
You let your dreams fall apart and it seems
They slowly fade away
Cause that clock just sticks down on Route 66
At the Golden Light Café

Now a bar stool dreamer the other side of prime
Old regrets are all that's left clouding up her mind
Life not spent on living, a heart that's put on pause
Gone from all that might have been
To has been who never was

Cause time goes by getting ready to fly living too afraid to fall
And in an autumn frost a whole life lost
Just a photo on the wall
You let your dreams fall apart and it seems
They slowly fade away
Cause that clock just sticks down on Route 66
At the Golden Light Café

Watching the time tick past
You find out much too late
As all of your tomorrows become your yesterday's

Cause time goes by getting ready to fly living too afraid to fall
And in an autumn frost a whole life lost
Just a photo on the wall
You let your dreams fall apart and it seems
They slowly fade away
Cause that clock just sticks down on Route 66
At the Golden Light Café

Thank you @luzcypher @pfunk @ausbitbank and everybody else who contributes time to keep this open mic rolling... And much love to all of the great content creators who throw it out there for the world to hear.

Sort:  

I am following you. I love the guitar, i love the hat and this beautiful country tune is just beautiful.

Thank you @papudeme. I'm glad that you like it. Thank you for following. I hope that you enjoy the next tunes that I put up as well...

Cool story and song, man! Nice @carljohn!

Thank you... I appreciate that.

Beautiful lines - in an autumn frost a whole life lost, and all of it, thank you!

Thank you for that..I always hope to find a better way to say something thats been said before. But I imagine it's all been said before at some point..

It's such a waste if someone tells you about their aspirations but somehow do not pursue them.

Enjoyed listening to your song! Would love to see more of that guitar though - maybe you could step back a little so we could see the both of you being great.

Cheers!

Thank you...
Yea I agree. Its sad seeing somebody sitting by letting life pass by. Its a challenge to step outside your own fear boundaries. Ill keep in mind the video next time...thanks for the input. I hope you check back in next time to see what you think..
Salute!

Definitely. Hopefully it's just an example and then it'll give a hint to people to do the opposite.

No worries - looking forward to more heartfelt videos :D Love reading the stories behind them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87