Steemit Open Mic Week 110 - "Once I Am Elected" (Original)

in #openmic5 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen, it's almost time for an election.


This is a big one.

Here are my hopes for the future. I hope we all will keep growing and climbing together toward common understanding. I hope that the people of the world, under the leadership of a new generation of heroes, will learn forgiveness, peace, patience, faith, temperance, justice, fortitude and love. Let's just say I'm one hopeful son of a bitch.


For #openmic week 110, I've written an original song called "Once I am Elected." I've been waiting all day for the new #openmic contest post, but I've decided to go ahead and post. :)



Once I am Elected

by Chris Roberts

Once I am elected I will start to make it right,
I’ll listen to the people and their needs.
Once I am elected, all our goals will be in sight,
We’ll bask in all the freedom freedom breeds.

Once I am elected, your troubles all will end,
And watching from your living room, you’ll all be satisfied.
Once I am elected, I’ll be leader, I’ll be friend.
We’ll stride into the sunset, wet with pride.

Once I am elected, then I’ll get this figured out,
The polls will teach me who I’m supposed to be.
Once I am elected, you’ll all know what I’m about,
At least your judgement’s based on just the parts I let you see…

Once I am elected, you’ll be happier each day,
Your lives can’t get much worse so let it ride.
Once I am elected all our enemies will pay,
And everyone will have to pick a side.

Once I am elected, man I’ll change it all around,
Leaders feed us lies on a guilded spoon,
Once I am elected, truth will finally be found,
If only I can get elected soon…

Once I am elected I’ll solve problems by the score,
You’ll wonder what you did without my lead,
Once I am elected, you will never wish for more,
I’ll put an end to violence and greed…

But can I be elected in this land of liberty?
I don’t suppose I can, I’ve made mistakes.
If we can’t help each other are we ever really free?
I guess the ones elected know the stakes.


God bless Liberty and Individual Freedom. God bless America.


Thanks to all the judges, organizers and supporters of Steemit Open Mic! You guys are the best!


Sort:  

Great that you decided to run a witness :)
Already cast my vote! Cheers!

Thanks for your vote. I really appreciate it. The plan is to try to bring more communities for Steemians to engage with on the blockchain and your vote really is encouraging. Thanks so much.

Hi, @chrisroberts!

You just got a 3.32% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @chrisroberts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93