Steemit Open Mic Week 85 - "Do Your Own Research" - Original Song

in #openmic6 years ago

Notice how everybody's always telling you to "do your own research"?

$$$ (10).jpg


Just what the hell does that even mean?


What even counts as research?


To me, it simply means "Don't make too many assumptions." Always draw your own conclusions, instead of borrowing someone else's, but it's pretty much impossible to locate the line between someone else's research and your own research.


On to my #OpenMic entry!


DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH

by Chris Roberts

When you hear…
The latest news…
And you want to form opinions from your views…
Remember that the loudest criers
Are almost always the biggest liars
So do be do do one simple thing for me...

Do do do your own research,
Shake, shake, shake off the dust…
Wait, wait wait for a reason
To give somebody your trust.

When you catch…
That crypto bug…
It's easy to drop thousands with a shrug.
Just buy right into the hype if
Ignorance is more your type
Than research, dull and painful as it may be…

Do do do your own research,
And you can write, write, write your own check.
Take take take all the time you need
Before you risk your fiscal neck.

When you see…
Someone you know…
Pregnant as can be, as her belly shows,
Bring it up, and you’ll be cursed,
Just go check the Facebook first,
Confirming your suspicions are correct…

Do do do your own research,
And you can save save save your own ass,
Don’t make too many assumptions,
And try to have a little class.


Why I've been absent from #OpenMic for a minute

I love Steemit Open Mic! It's the first solid community that I encountered on Steem, and it's thanks to #openmic that I've written more songs in the past year than in the rest of my life combined. Huge thank you to @luzcypher and @pfunk for making this amazing thing happen, and to all the judges and contributors who work so hard week after week.


I wear many hats, and for the last several months I've been busy with radio script-writing. My amazing wife, @CarrieAllen runs two shows on the Steemstar Network...

Mission Control Mondays...

On Mission Control Mondays, @carrieallen brings you CARRIE'S HOUSE OF HORRORS, the wildly popular SPACE CARRIE'S ADVENTURES IN SPACE, and more! New original content every week, written by me, and performed by YOU!

...and Steemstar After Dark!


Steemstar After Dark is your Friday night unwind session, with original sketch comedy (written by me and others), hilarious songs, interviews and more! Anyone can write and submit material, and ANYONE can perform in these sketches LIVE in Discord! Come join us Friday night; you'll love it!


Check out my blog to see some of the sketches I've been writing!

That's me and Carrie. We live in the mountains.



Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

lol
So true...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82