Steemit Open Mic Week # 97 // What's Up by 4 Non Blondes (Ukulele Cover)

in #openmic6 years ago


Hi Friends!

I had sooo much fun practicing and recording this song. I really love both the message, and the power/emotion of this 4 Non Blondes hit.

I hope you guys enjoy this cover! Be sure to browse the #openmic tag if you want to see more awesome entries this week. As always, huge thanks to @luzcypher, @pfunk and the entire judge's panel for all the work you do to make this community great!

Sort:  

Love your performance. I was actually in the studio when this song was being recorded.

wooooah no way! @luzcypher - you always have the best "fun facts"!

Here's a fun fact for you. The only person in the band who actually played on the studio version of that song was the singer Linda Perry. Everyone else on the cut is a studio musician brought in to make the record.

The band had never been in the studio prior to then and just choked under the microscope of being in that setting. They could play it live in front of an audience no problem, but in the studio, they were too self-conscient.

That happens to lots of freshmen groups who have only played live. Tracy Chapman, for example, cannot play live with a band or with other musicians in the studio. They recorded here by herself and brought in musicians after the fact to record her album.

I've met Tracy twice, once while she was vacationing and once backstage after her performance in Oakland, California. She's really cool and humble as can be.

Very nice work here coruscate--acapella very impressive. Nice work on the euk. I think of that "Iz'' guy from Hawaii whenever a good song is played with euk. Thanks for the submission!

I love how you do the high pitches. You did great 🙂

Thank you so much @luxx!! Thank for stopping by and listening. <3

Hey, what's goin' on, girlfriend?....
This is quite the awesome rendition, Leigh... :)
(hope I spelled your name right... haha.)

Aww thanks @passion-ground!! I’m glad you enjoyed it. 😃

My name is spelled Lea - but you were on the right track! 😋

Wow! You've got a beautiful voice Lea! :D

Will we be seeing you perform at the Steemfest 3 this year? :D

Ohhhh Thank You, Thank You, Thank You for Shining and Sharing 💖💖💖

aww i'm so glad you enjoyed it my friend!! <3

I do a version on this song too!

Great job on this submission.

Oooh that's awesome! This is such a great song. <3

Wooo you also sing, you are quite versatile, the instrument you use looks like one of my country Venezuela that is called four, luck in the Steemit Open Mic Week # 97, greetings

I'm so glad you enjoyed it @hendersonp! <3

I added you to goodbloggers
http://www.goodbloggers.com/blogger/coruscate
Help good bloggers to survive))

I have run out of words to see your participation, very well done and what a good performance when playing the ukulele, congratulations, because every week you delight us with good music.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86