Steemit Open Mic Week #89 - No Scrubs by TLC + Why I've been gone for a while

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends!

It's been about a month since I posted an Open Mic - which is really unusual for me! Since I started here on Steemit, open mic has been a huge part of my experience. In the beginning of this video, I share a bit about why I took a break - and what I realized. Moving forward, I'm excited to start curating more #openmic content again and plug back into the community.

Also - I've got a fun cover for you too! For open mic week #89 - I am playing "No Scrubs" by TLC on the ukulele.

Thanks for giving me the space to share, and thanks for listening to my open mic entry!

XO, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Sort:  

You're not a bad community member! You were just taking a break like you said. It's good to hear you felt so welcomed and you made so many friends on open mic.

Never give up! This is your passion. Taking breaks is fine. Just get back on the horse!

Looking forward to more of your content!

Thanks for the encouraging words! <3

It's really good to have you as part of this community and so much fun to hear you get better each week. I feel the same way sometimes. Some weeks feel more engaging than other weeks, but I think that's just how Steemit is in general. I just keep pushing on and take the good with the bad.

I have missed you while you took a break. Glad to see you back.

aww thanks @luzcypher!! That means a lot to hear you say that and i'm glad I'm not the only one that goes in waives of feeling engaged/connected.

Thanks for all of your encouragement over the many months i've been playing open mic! I really appreciate everything you do for the music community here. I'm sure it's a thankless job at times. Especially with the low price of steem. haha Just know that we all love and appreciate everything your doing.

i felt the same way about the openmic community... they are one of the giant reasons why I believe in Steem.

This one poem says it all... it really does..

'No Man is an Island'
No man is an island entire of itself; every man
is a piece of the continent, a part of the main;
if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe
is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as
well as any manner of thy friends or of thine
own were; any man's death diminishes me,
because I am involved in mankind.
And therefore never send to know for whom
the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.

MEDITATION XVII
Devotions upon Emergent Occasions
John Donne

Thanks for the thoughtful reply @meno! What a beautiful poem that really sums up the importance of community. I'm glad to be back and re-energized to get involved in the community here. Open Mic is one of the coolest corners of Steemit. It's pretty incredible that so many incredible musicians get together every week and celebrate their love for music.

thanks for sharing your thoughts there in the beginning about your experience here. you are a great community member and dont you dare put to much pressure on yourself, let things flow as they flow, you have a fantastic energy and I am really glad to have got the pleasure of discovering your talent. much love to you.

You always have such a balanced perspective @soundlegion! Thanks for always being so encouraging. ♥️

Also, totally made my day to see that I will be making your top picks list! Such an honor!!

Looks like you just recently hit 70 rep too!! That is HUGE!! Big congratulations are in order! 😃

I’ve felt the same way about a number of the things you mentioned in the video - for a while I moved away from entering since I’d won and some part of me didn’t want that to happen since we now have a wealth of undiscovered talent that could honestly do with the support more than myself.

I’d recommend checking out the ‘Sounds of Steem’ radio show on MSP Waves hosted by @aggroed @isaria & @krystle (sorry if I missed anyone) the players I’ve heard there are truly the cream of the crop.

Although Steem is great, I feel more comfortable engaging directly through live chats - I guess that’s why most of my posts have so few comments :D

Thanks for the thoughtful response @elliotjgardner! I have listened to the Sound of Steem show before, but it's been a while! Thanks for the recommendation s a good place to find awesome open mic talent to curate.

I hear ya on live chat! I really love chatting in the comments - but there is a different energy in that kind of chat room. It's less formal and more fluid. :)

Thanks again for stopping by and leaving such a thoughtful comment!

Congratulations @coruscate! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think you really enjoyed ti be in there
Isn’t it..your videos are also amazing to watch...
Thanks to be in there...

It's good that you came back for these OpenMic walks and I definitely need to listen to many songs. I did not listen to it so now I want it for my repertoire. I hope it does not bother you to take it to cover it with my violin, thanks for stopping by my profile for a while is good to know that you liked my cover as well as I liked yours hahahaha greetings

Thanks for the warm welcome back @kkarenmp! Your violin playing is as beautiful as ever! <3

lovely <3 i love the song cover. and thanks for return here, we are like a big family <3
p.d.: i love ukulele <3 :3 bless

aww thanks for that @nahupuku! I'm so glad you enjoyed this cover on my ukulele. :)

I like it, in my country Venezuela, we have some similar instrument named Cuatro (4 - strings) so im very happy to listen this sound, i love no scrubs song, and i love your voice :3 (i create some openmic songs, but i try to do some exprimental insane music always, hard to listen xD) blessings

I like a lot this others No Scrubs covers too:

Ed Sheeran - Shape Of You/No Scrubs | BTWN US Cover on Spotify

"No Scrubs" (TLC) 1940s Cover by Robyn Adele ft. Sarah Krauss and Darcy Wright

What an awesome sound! Loved every part of it! Keep up the good work! Love from Volareo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10