Steemit Open Mic Week 124: Cover "Wasted Time" by The Eagles

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


THANK YOU for any and all upvotes and resteems! Please consider going here to upvote my entry in the contest.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-124-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

A HUGE

to @luzcypher and @pfunk (and all the other folks who are not as visible) who keep Open Mic going. This is really one of the coolest things in the internet IMO, you guys are awesome!

This is a song I loved as a teenager who had never been in love. That is the power of great lyrics, you can relate even if you never experienced it. The music is equally compelling, the perfect scaffolding for the lyrics to reach the sky... That said, there is one unusual challenge for me when singing this. When Don Henley sings it, I visualize a woman doing something like this:

When I sing it, I see a man with his little head in his hand... and that is a very different visual. Hard to keep the proper mood once that image has popped into my mind...

Not long after this came out, I DID fall in love. It was not always easy, we had some rough years and some big fights. I learned to play this song over those years, it was cathartic to express the anguish of "losing love" in music. Well, all that was some 35 years ago. I decided to dust the tune off and do it for Open Mic a few weeks ago and one night my husband came home from work while I was practicing. He comes in and says "What did I do?" so sweetly it was hilarious and terribly sad all at once!

It is not really "polished" but I am not sure I have any "polish" left in me. I can lead a tune to water but I can't make it drink, or something like that... so it is what it is. For the record, it turns out that not one moment of loving @longsilver was wasted time. ❤️️

Sort:  

"You can tune a piano but you can't tuna fish"....album by Reo Speedwagon. lol. Will go vote ya!

Yeah, and in this case the piano and the fish both need tuned LOL!
Thank you!!

This post has been voted for the project @templo music

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17