Steemit Open Mic Week 88: Cover "Sail Away" by Neil Young

in #openmic6 years ago

I could live inside a tepee
I could die in penthouse thirty-five
You could lose me on the freeway
But I would still make it back alive

[Chorus]
As long as we can sail away
As long as we can sail away
There'll be wind in the canyon
Moon on the rise
As long as we can sail away

See the losers in the best bars
Meet the winners in the dives
Where the people are the real stars
All the rest of their lives

[Chorus]

There's a road stretched out between us
Like a ribbon on the high plain
Down from Phoenix through Salinas
Around the bend and back again

So, this is not me thinking I am ready to hire my roadies and become a rock star, but this is me really, really excited to be able to do this at all again. I am just a campfire guitar player, or was. Years of wear and tear on my wrists made me give it up, over ten years ago. I just could not hold the strings down, no grip. Yes, yes, I lost my grip, ha, ha, ha... Well, thanks to Bob and Brad, the two most famous physical therapists on the internet (in their opinion, of course) I can play again. Thanks to the old fellow at the music shop, my guitar can be tuned again. All those talented people have made it possible for me to do this... blame them... 😁

The mic on the bucket turned out to be just a decoration... my cell phone actually picked up the audio better than my mic lol! But you have to admit, that is a snazzy recording studio I put together!

Sort:  

tip!

I hear a lot of passion!
Steem on!

Thank you kindly!

That is very sweet of you to say! I am probably going to be more of a regular so I hope you do not regret saying it lol!

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love Neil Young! Especially his acoustic stuff like the Unplugged album

We got to see him in concert, half the set was acoustic and awesome!

I love this! I'm so happy for you that you can play. Sometimes my arms shake after playing guitar, especially if I've been writing all day then play hard, and my hands don't really want to work after that. Have to balance things out. Thanks for the reminder to be grateful for what I have.

You keep playing, I'm super proud of you! And I want to sit by a campfire and play with you sometime. 💖

I was first diagnosed with carpal tunnel in my early twenties, but nursed it along until my mid 40s. Then I was put on a dinky notebook to do electronic medical records - after 20 years of hand writing notes that tiny, awkward keyboard nearly crippled me in less than 3 years. Then I took up farming and nothing ever had a chance to heal. Well, it got so bad I started youtubing stuff... lol! Turns out I had a pinched nerve up by my shoulder, only a minor CTS issue. The youtube channel walked me through a range of diagnostics, then gave me exercises to do that gave me back my campfire singing! And there are fire rings at the hot spring... lol!

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criterias for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Thank you for sharing your talent with us. I’m happy to hear that you got your grip back.

I’ll be going camping soon and look forward to having a campfire and listening to some songs.

Haha! One of my grips anyway... Have a GREAT time camping!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This is absolutely delightful and you really surprised me! I love the sweet sound of your voice and it sure reminds me of a coffeehouse in NYC.

Play it for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31