Steemit Open Mic week 84 "Wagon Wheel" Dylan/Secor cover by @gibber

in #openmic6 years ago

#1 Hit, Certified Triple Platinum, Grammy Award Winner.

If your on a phone don't worry you can hear it when I start singing, but it's take a minute for me to introduce the song. I mixed it on a computer so that's where it plays the best. I downloaded a "volume boost app" off google play so now it plays better on my phone.... anyway I'm in the learning curve...

The chorus was written by Bob Dylan and only made it out on a bootleg album. Ketch Secor of Old Crow Medicine Show completed the song by adding the verses. It went big. Then Darius Rucker made it even bigger with Lady Antebellum on the back up vocals. In addition, Rucker won the Grammy Award for Best Country Solo Performance in 2014 and "Taste of Country" has Rucker's version as #17 on the "Top Country Songs of the Century"

This song is a huge challenge for me. The amount of breath it takes to get through the verses is tremendous and the cadence is really tricky, plus I sing it loud as all heck so it's workout just get through this while sitting playing guitar. Let me present to you Steemit Open Mic week 84.. Wagon Wheel...

Thankyou @pfunk & @luzcypher for making this such a great platform

And thank you to all the judges for all the time and effort it takes to make your weekly picks:

@verbal-d @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion @meno

Sort:  

One of my favorite songs to sing bass harmony on in music parties. The "hey momma rock me" is just a lot of fun at the bottom of my range.

Hours of fun brother ;9)

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Beautiful

My man, you have some MASSIVE LUNGS, I'm out of breath just trying to sing with you, lol, sounds beautiful!

right on thank you @luiskrupaz .. I used to swim a lot as a kid and I think my lungs expanded from holding my breath all the time.... ;9)

Nice work here, brother, you sing this song well. I always think of a specific person when I hear this song. Brings back good memories for me.

Right on Cabe thanks for stopping by and listening. Aw good memories.. love it.. see ya next week.. ;9)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89