Steemit Open Mic Week 97 - (Acapella Cover) - Kolesce - For A Minute

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I wanted to do something a little closer to what I'm known for doing. I used a staple of my live sets - the TC Helicon VoiceLiveTouch 2 - to do an acapella loop performance. It's got cool harmonies, effects and of course looping, and I often use this over top of my beats in shows. This is one of my favorite adaptable EDM songs (ie, has verses and a full chorus) and I can never get it out of my head.

A question maybe some of you are asking - Why, as a songwriter/composer, is she doing so many covers?
Two reasons -
1) I don't have a lot of opportunity to perform songs I like IRL; my shows are all original and partially improv.
2) My original songs are often mostly instrumental electronic, with a verse or hook thrown in - very hard to adapt to a cover. An acoustic cover would be like 20 seconds long, lol.
But I promise I will do a few here and there!

So, we (and by we I mean me) have now figured out that there is literally no angle in my studio that works to get everything. It has to do with the placement of my desk, speakers and computers (which are optimized for sound treatment and I can't move) - but basically - unless I get a drone or an 8 foot tripod/camera suspension, there is no way for me to get my full face from the front, PLUS my hands and/or toys. Apologies for the mostly sideways view on this - I tried to keep looking at the camera, but it's pretty uncomfortable/unnatural to turn your head 45 degrees while also "playing an instrument". If anyone has a spare ceiling mount tripod or drone kicking around, feel free to send it! :P

Thank you amazing Open Mic team for the opportunity to participate in Steemit Open Mic Week 97.

Sort:  

Oh my - this is acapella taken to a whole new level. I love that instant harmonizer jobby and am going to have to go and look it up as I've never come across one before and am intrigued!

This piece is gorgeous, and I can't wait to hear more of your work. One of the other commenters said that you vocal was "clean" and I agree- it was the perfect couterpoint to the funky layered backing track you set up.

I actually really liked the angle you recorded the video at- I can imagine turning your head and singing as well as playing was a bit of a nightmare for you - but it looked seriously cool!

So glad you received a Curie vote on your performance- so well deserved - and it meant I followed their trail and found you on here :)
Can't wait to see what you come up with next. Do you have an album out for purchase anywhere?
E x

I have a lot of eps/albums but they are more instrumental, for the most part. I'll be putting out a new album thats more vocal centered soon hopefully!!

What a unique sound! It got me singing along with your beautiful rendition! the TC Helicon VoiceLiveTouch 2 is quite an amazing instrument. I've never heard of it before but it sure enriches your performance. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! It's a decent looper but even more so a great harmonizer for instant layering. Glad you liked it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I am addicted to my harmonizer lately

But girl... We have a winner this week surely
Loved it

What harmonizer do you have?

I use a software one, it's very simple, called Hummonica

Hey really cool, love the loops and the cool vocal effects. Sounded awesome and trippy.

Wanted to let you know the vid didn't start playing until about 3:40 tho, but either way it was awesome and I hope you win.

I fixed it, it was a weird bounce glitch. Thanks though <3 as always for your support

Absolutely love the distorted bass tone you get out of that effect on your voice. The vocal backing track you put together is awesome and works so well to showcase your beautiful clean lead vocal over the top. Wonderful cover! Resteemed. Much love - Carl

Thank you so much! <3

This is really really coool! So dreamy, so trippy, I never saw an acapella done like this before... :)))

Yay! I'm glad you like it!

Hi ill-esha,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

How cool how you build that song up, its like the audio version of copy and pasting yourself....so neat to see the 'house being built' as it were.

I checked your profile and I really like the use of the phrase 'audio designer'. I find that people with interesting titles are interesting people!

Steem on!

Beautiful song. Love everything about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82