Steemit Open Mic Week 84 - (Untittled) Original short composition

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

For those of you interested, I'm playing Venezuelan inspired patterns in this one. As well as a Venezuelan instrument called the "cuatro." It's a very percussive 4 stringed instrument responsible for most of the folk music in my country.

I haven't sang on Steemit yet, this is the first time you'll hear my vocals.

To make this track I recorded every audio and video take in a simoultaneous matter, meaning the takes on screen are the original audio samples. I'm using Cubase 9 for the audio and premiere pro for the video editting.

Let me know what you think,

Enjoy!

image

@luzcypher

PS: If you too are a musician you should participate as well!

Sort:  

This is next level, you've set the bar high for other contestants

As great as it is, the bar has not been set what so ever as it's not a live performance, its recordings layered, which I find isn't fair to other contestants (including myself) who either don't have the equipment or who actually give a fantastic solo performance yet, a lot of them get overshadowed by other people who add so many layers and other recordings to enhance there entry. I'm not being bitter or trying to be rude to this entry (who has great rhythm) and no disrespect to other talented artists who give multi layered entries like this, but, it does take the whole point of what "performing live" actually means. Anyways time to go, I'm sure you'll do well my friend. Peace

Honest and true statement! But @juanhobos points out that it is post-produced, so he is not misleading anybody. The rules are set up by @luzcypher, he decides if an entry like this can qualify (my opinion: It is hard to tell because it is a multiscreen performance and each take could have been done live)

The simple fact bro is that this isn't a live performance. He recorded the takes then edited them so they were put in sync, it would be live if he played all the instruments one after another looping it without any other window and that's fair play, but multi screen windows is not something that is a flowing live performance. Anyways not gonna continue with this as all the other artists have received decent amount of upvotes following on from there similar upvotes from previous weeks, me, somehow playing in a church on a beautiful piano playing an original song is far less superior than a 3 chord cover tune with not exactly the greatest vocals somehow the best entry. Absolute madness, but hey that's the reasons why I can no longer invest my time with the openmic section on here.

This might encourage me to do live looping for my next set! Although you're right about the videos being edited together, each individual take still is recorded in a live setting. Is this a loophole? Not too sure, but, its still definitely a fun way of creating music. Don't stop doing what you love, nor participating on openmic. Your time will come as well! Peace!

One word: DAMNNNNNNNN! You're too lit, man.

Había visto este tipo de elaboraciones en YouTube, pero jamás con un tono autóctono y florklórico Venezolano, bravo papá!!!

¡Vaya, me encantó tu creatividad! la manera en que agregas cada sonido, me hubiese gustado otro final y no uno tan abrupto. Estaré pendiente de tus post. Saludos! =)

¡Esto está geniaaal hermano! Pero si debo decirte que me dejas picado por no haberle puesto una letra a esa composición, esto está en otro nivel, si cuadra.

I'm glad I waited for that bass line to kick in. I was digging the syncopation you started with and then was just about to get bored when I was hit by some amazing bass work. That was awesome.

¡De verdad espectacular! Muchas felicitaciones @juanhobos nos dejaste anonadados. Aunque hemos de decir que quedamos cortos cuando finalizó el video.

El equipo de El Arca te manda saludos y te invitamos a seguir compartiendo tu arte con la comunidad. Un abrazo.

IN-CRE-IBLE, pero no seas tan pichirre

Jajajaja muy agradecido por los comentarios. Prometo alargar el video de la semana que viene. Pendiente!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77