Steemit Open Mic Week 103: "A Lack of Color" (Death Cab for Cutie Cover) by @k0wsk1

in #openmic6 years ago


I'm back from a mini-break from the Steemit Open Mic (and Steem in general), and glad to be here! I hope everyone has been well these past couple of weeks :) For my submission this week I recorded a lil cover of a DCFC song that is very close to my heart. I have loved playing this song since the day I learned it, many years ago. I hope you enjoy my cover of "A Lack of Color":

Original Track:

Lyrics:

And when I see you
I really see you upside down
But my brain knows better
It picks you up and turns you around
Turns you around, turns you around

If you feel discouraged
When there's a lack of color here
Please don't worry lover
It's really bursting at the seams
From absorbing everything, the spectrum's A to Z

This is fact not fiction
For the first time in years
All the girls in every girly magazine
Can't make me feel any less alone

I'm reaching for the phone
To call at 7:03 and on your machine
I slur a plea for you to come home
But I know it's too late
And I should have given you a reason to stay
Given you a reason to stay
Given you a reason to stay
Given you a reason to stay

This is fact, not fiction
For the first time in years

Thanks as always to the amazing staff of the Steemit Open Mic: @pfunk, @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno! We, the community, love you very much <3

And of course, a huge thank you to anyone else who happens to stop by and listen :) Cheers, and Steem On!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice cover, man! I hope Ben Gibbard saw this! :D

Highly doubtful x) But thank you so much! Much appreciated :)

@k0wsk1 Welcome from your break. Excellent entry with an adorable song that is very close to your heart because you like it very much. You have a very beautiful voice, warm, magical and unique. You transmit a lot of love when you sing. You put all your heart and passion to the interpretation. You have a lot of talent. I wish you success in the contest with this wonderful entry. A big greeting.

Thanks so much @yeninsfer, really appreciate you stopping by :) Much love!!

I've never heard the original version and I straightly listened your cover. I'd say it's a great cover!

Just wondering, are you on soundcloud as well?

Thank you!! Yes I am, you can find me here: https://soundcloud.com/k0wsk1

Give me a link to yours, would love to check you out!

Ooh lovely - your voice is stunningly suited to this song, delicate and magical whilst giving a captivating, raw performance. I've not heard this song before, but you had me hooked all the way through!

Welcome back from your mini-break, and congratulations on your Curie- so well deserved! E x

Thank you so much <3

That was a great idea of you to put your recording and at the same time the original version. And I thought I listened to the same performance when I played the original one! The only difference I noticed is the more brushing of the guitar on the original version. Yours has more of straight strumming but you performed very good!

Do you really sing? How long have you been singing?

Thanks :) My first cover was of a DCFC song actually, so I tend to sing a lot like their frontman naturally. I learned a ton of their material - even played a 20min set of their stuff at a cover show once xD I’ve been singing seriously for probably 8 years or so now. Although I say “seriously”, I don’t take singing as seriously as I probably should.

Thanks so much for stopping by and showing love!!

It looks like you really like DCFC. What is so particular with their song that you like them the most?

When you say seriously but you again said not seriously enough, how serious should it be? Is singing your professional career by the way?

I think theres definitely the nostalgia factor for me, but I really like Ben’s writing, especially their older stuff. It’s hard to say, it’s just good music.

Singing is not a career for me, haha :) Maybe someday. I definitely don’t think of myself as a singer first.

Well, I know people who are very good at singing but indeed that is not their career. It is more for fun and a hobby. Certainly, folks can enjoy singing that way so keep singing! 😊

@k0wsk1 excellent friend a beautiful music good entry you have a good voice and you also play the guitar very well. good talent when you love a thing you give the best and you have shown me that if you like to sing not because of singing this song, it was with much love towards everyone the video says it all continues like this a support from aca @neymarth10

Thanks so much <3

Wow that talent .. The sound of the guitar came straight to my heart, SUBLIME. Excellent performance, sing excellently well, God bless your talent, You have good material to win the contest a hug @k0wsk1 !

Very much appreciated, @naideth :) Thanks so much

I haven't listen to the original song. I only come across this song from your cover. You have a lovely voice, and it compliment nicely with the guitar. I cannot resists to replay, it really nice and touched. Hope you win the contest.

Thanks for stopping by and offering the good juju :) Cheers!!

Keep it up!! All the best and have nice day!!

Hi k0wsk1,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Luv you so much, thnx <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70