Steemit Open Mic Week 93: Original Track "Both Running" by @kayclarity

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys! I'm back! I really hope you enjoy this one. It's about an old relationship I had, and years later I was processing the sadness of that situation with him in a way I wasn't able to at the time--notably, trying to vulnerable and yet not bitter. My desire in writing it was to help people find a way to articulate that experience a bit, and in a way that wasn't just angry or numb, but primarily just heart-cry honest.

Both Running

How could something so good go so wrong?
How'd we ever hit the end?
Thought we were solid and certain
Had that ancient innocence

I told you listen, I told you trust me
I raised my white flag, asked you to love me
Why couldn't you see it, the signs that were showing?
Now we are both running

Yesterday still echoes heartbeat strong
Like a track inside my head
How can it possibly have been so long
Since we fell over the edge

I told you listen, I told you trust me
I raised my white flag, asked you to love me
Why couldn't you see it, the signs that were showing?
Now we are both running

I told you listen, I told you trust me
I raised my white flag, asked you to love me
Why couldn't you see it, the signs that were showing?
Now we are both running
Now we are both running
Now we are both running

Copyright 2014. Please request permission before using (outside of Open Mic things, of course!).

xx,
Kay

Follow @kayclarity for more songs and poems and occasional thoughts on life and art.

[Edit: I HIGHLY recommend listening to the audio of the text in the comments. Hilarity.]

Sort:  

Glad you're back, girlfriend! Don't stray so far, okay? That's how much you mean to me...
This is a rather lovely composition and performance, Kay...
Love this!
"Trust me!"

Aw, it's so nice to missed! At a certain point you start thinking that people must forget about you when it's been so long, so it's so nice to have such a warm welcome back.

So glad you liked it! :)

Good to have you back. Love the song.

I noticed your copyright notice in this post. Thought you might find this interesting.

https://steemit.com/music/@luzcypher/music-creators-guide-to-copyrights-royaties-and-recording-contracts

Thanks on all counts! For now, it's best for me to do it this way, but I certainly appreciate having this to reference as I move forward. Nice to be back!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I laughed, so it gets an upvote this time.

Lovely as always! Hugs to you songbird 💜

Thanks, old friend! We've been on here more than a year!

It’s wonderfully awesome right?💜

Great Melody !!! I love your song Kay well done :)

Thank you! I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed it so much!

You have such a beautiful voice! I never get tired of listening to ur songs 😉
Thanks for sharing..

Thanks so much, friend! Hope you're well these days?

Doing a lil better everyday.. thanks for asking.. hope all is well with u 🙂

I can totally relate with this. Its a nice piece, thanks for sharing

I can totally
Relate with this. Its a nice
Piece, thanks for sharing

                 - jaine


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You have a great voice 😍😍
I like this video❤️

Thank you, friend!

Beautiful voice, it is impressive, you have a lot of talent, excellent interpretation, congratulations, greetings<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87