The Mountain, Missed Deadlines, and Creative Ideas

in #openmic6 years ago

This original song was intended for Steemit OpenMic, but I edited out the introduction because I completely missed the deadline today. Good Ole Friday the 13th Luck. Open Mic is one of my favorite things in the Steemit realm and I bombed it today. @openmic

Well, this experimental video was perhaps not in the "appropriate format" for open mic, but regardless I wanted to share it. I used VIDEOSHOP iphone App to edit / split / add text & emojis. I like experimenting, mixing it up, and I also love overhead angles (as you can see.)

Currently I'm in a weekly songwriter challenge group. This is an Austin based group where a prompt is sent out Mondays and you have to complete a song by Sunday night.

I was midway through QuestLove's newest audio book when I wrote "Mountain" earlier this week. - Creative Quest (good blog article here for some overview)

DEFINITELY CHECK OUT HIS BOOK, BTW.

Since then, I've finished the book and the song, although I really wanted to add drums, textures, and layers to the piece. I actually snagged the opening keyboard rif from an audio nugget that was in the audio book.

Questlove talked about so many interesting things including ideas derived from other ideas and about revisiting old works for new ideas. Both of which I could relate to with this song. I know it's something that I will come back to and go deeper with, but deadlines and time scarcity force you to just keep plowing forward.

Climbing mountains is what we are doing metaphorically when we are going through struggles or change. Sometimes you see change that's happening in yourself and in people you love. And it's a "climb."

Sometimes you're wishing that change would happen, but you know there's no straight line to get there. This is the idea - that there's "No straight line over a mountain."

We have to climb and push our strength and resilience.

The world is heavy and beautiful - dark and light - and hopefully inspired.

Creatives thrive on dichotomy like food.
Let's hope we can keep lots of variety in our diet.

Cheers to the CREATIVE QUEST.

IMG_9894.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @laurascarborough! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70