Open Mic week 123 Top 5 and Mentions

in #openmic5 years ago

Hello my dear Steemians, it's been a little while for me, as some of you might know, life has gotten in the way of my Steemin but this is soon to change for good. This last week I spent some days in mandatory rest, skipped work because of this, and this also meant I had time to come back to Steem to listen to the music of my loving community.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@amundafrank - hallelujah - Cover

I must confess, I saw the title of the song and I clicked so fast I almost broke the mousepad on my laptop. This, to me, is one of the best compositions of all time and I wanted to hear this interpretation. Of course, I did not know what to expect, but a minute in I was sold and I knew this had to place first on my list.

Absolutely beautiful guys!

Second Place.-

@mariajruizb - Te volvere a querer (cover)/a>

Seems like this week is all about romance, spanish romance, and I'm not complaining one bit. Diana is just another angelic voice that has been part of our community for a while now. Her vocal control is just as good as it gets, landing those high notes with control and tenderness.

This just had to place, it had to.

Fourth Place.-

@jubei333 - Glory (cover)

I'm super happy to place @jubei333 on this week's entries. Not only because the interpretation deserves it, his vocal style and delivery won me over super fast, but also because to place on your first entry is quite special, even if I say so myself.

Fifth Place.-

@carlosgu - Hummingbird (cover)

Please make room for some true maestros of the acoustic arts. I was blown away by the virtuosic elements of the performance, I could not believe this treat was hidden in the entries for the week. What is there not to love about this?

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@drewley - Searching(original)


@siomarasalmeron - Nada falta (original)


@amberyooper - A cover song


As always, I would like to express my gratitude to the different leaders and witnesses on this platform that have been supporting the @openmic contest. In no particular order:
* @ausbitbank * @aggroed * @curie * @pfunk * @helpie
If you love this contest, and you would like to keep it going, you could do so by supporting the witnesses that make it happen.


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #123, me done on a Sunday? WOW! hahahaha

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love





Sort:  

Hey @meno! Good to see you back and thanks for your help last week with my witness. Much appreciated.

Click here to see the main post of who won Steemit Open Mic week 123

Hola @meno quiero agradecer tu consideración por haber tomado en cuenta nuestro trabajo, para mi es una bendición, fue un honor poder compartir con ustedes nuevamente, tus palabras las llevare guardadas en mi corazón porque comentarios como el que me regalaste, llena mucho de motivación. Dios te bendiga. Gracias. Felicidades a todos los seleccionados en el top 5 y por supuesto a todos los que están en mención honorifica.

Im so incredibly humbled to make your top 5 list I cant even find the words.I agree with the number 1 choice 100% ,as soon as the first guy starts singing you know the video is something special.

That video inspired me to play around with Hallelujah today.I went to another railway tunnel out of curiosity, I have a vlog of the day here...

In it I play Hallelujah in the tunnel but the rainwater dripping from the tunnel roof kinda gets in the way of the song.Anyways it was just a soundcheck and ill be back there next week exploring ,hopefully I will get a better take.

For this weeks entry I went with another Leonard Cohen song called The Partisan and tried some slick VFX work with the body of the guitar,check it out...

https://steemit.com/openmic/@jubei333/steemit-open-mic-week-124-the-partisan-leonard-cohen-cover-jubei333

Again thank you so much for your feedback it really made my day.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.983 which ranks you at #319 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #2. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97