Open Mic week 126 - Top 5 and Mentions

in #openmic5 years ago

Hello my dear Open Mic community, hope all is well with you all. I've had a few days now to listen to the entries and it was a particularly difficult week for me to make up my mind, but here it is.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@trevorpetrie - Lie to me - I need a friend (original)

Well this was amazing, what else can I say? I mean, if you've never related to these feelings then you are not old enough, and life has not shaken you around enough. In other words, we've all been there, we've all felt that need to give the steering wheel to someone and finally find happiness, but know that is not how it works.

Second Place.-

@zipporah - Rag doll(original)

I could listen to Zipporah sing all day, I really could. I mean, unless you heart is frozen in black ice, there is no way her voice and her lyrics can't reach your heart. This song, this little lullaby is all about her biggest strength, her ability to show her vulnerability and to call it special is to call the sun hot.

Third Place.-

@davidcentenor - Nada mas (cover)

All I have to say is "Woah!" - Listen, I don't know what's going on here, but somebody must investigate their ability to harmonize so perfectly because its too good to be legal. You must, and I repeat, you must listen to these guys. Do it now, do it today, right now, don't wait.

Fourth Place.-

@tarotbyfergus - House of the rising sun(cover)

My man showing up to rock the house. This cover was just superb, a true classic and Tarot made it his own. I think @tarotbyfergus has been one of the most consistent musicians on this platform and I feel blessed to have him be part of our community. If you love the original, you will love this take on the classic.

Fifth Place.-

@dianakyv - Que Lloro (cover)

Diana is just one of those singers that can make anyone's skin got into goosebump mode at will. I remember listening to the original song a long time ago, but it works so much better with a beautiful female voice, that I won't listen to the original in the same way ever again.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@k0wsk1/3jdg9faa


As always, I would like to express my gratitude to the different leaders and witnesses on this platform that have been supporting the @openmic contest. In no particular order:
* @ausbitbank * @aggroed * @curie * @pfunk * @helpie
If you love this contest, and you would like to keep it going, you could do so by supporting the witnesses that make it happen.


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #125 - A little later than last week, but showed up to work!!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love





Sort:  

Thank you, Meno dearest. 💜 It’s been a really rough week...and this moment, in particular, is exceptionally difficult. My brother’s not doing well — our family is stressed and beginning to break down. This is a bright spot in my very grey day. 💖 I’m so grateful. 🙏🏼

Long live open mic!!!

wou! Meno, thank you for such emotional words that reach my heart, what a real pleasure, how beautiful to be in your top and what a joy to consider my work! A hug 🤗 💓😉

@meno thank you so much brother. You summed up the sentiment of the song so well there. I truly appreciate your ongoing support for my music 🙏

Thank you very much for the friendly friend @meno, it is really gratifying to read comments so full of inspiration, they make us motivate to continue working with more commitment, really thank you very much friend.

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.979 which ranks you at #325 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 324).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73