Open Mic Week 92 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello there my musical friends, a little late or early depends on who you ask, but here is open mic post. We had yet another amazing week, with beautiful original music (my favorite). A great surprise in my opinion and of course, jaw dropping performances.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@moderndayjester - Earth has cracked again (original song)

A talented pianist with a unique set of skills, The modern day jester is no stranger to the #openmic community. I've been waiting to listen to an original song of this level of emotion from him and this week, it happened. I'm happy to see him on the top of not only my list.

Second Place.-

@silentscreamer - Moonlight Sonata/Thunderstruck(cover)

Oh gosh... @silentscreamer is at it again, and this time she is attempting to outrock everyone, with a violin mind you. Honestly, I know she's probably worked countless hours on her skills, on honing in that perfect intonation, and I'm not trying to take away her credit for doing so. But, It's like they say out there - "If you make it look easy, that means you are good"

Third Place.-

@josecabrerav - Necesaria (original song)

Listening to Jose reminds me of conversations I've had a few times with my dear friend @krystle. You just run out of adjectives, how many times can you say brilliant until you've outused the word. Well, I guess i'm about to outuse it, because that's precisely what this performance was.

Side note, its hard not to smile when I listen to Jose, he seems to always be happy to perform, as if that's the only place he can let all of himself come out.

Fourth Place.-

@elainefaye - Too High(original song)

This was completely unexpected. The vocals just soared over the track like nobody's business. (say this with a NY accent). It almost feels like this song belongs to a different time, a time when soul vocals dominated the scene, a better time if you ask me.

I would love to hear this song produced, with all the backup vocals and such. The group performance gave me a great idea of how the final production would sound like. Amazing work, just amazing.

Fifth Place.-

@ user - On my mind (original song)

I think 20 seconds into the song I was already sold. Drew's vocals are honestly some of the best on the community. Not only because of the technical aspects of it, the vocal control and pitch, but the emotion he managed to convey with his soothing style.

Stunning piece...

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@k0wsk1 - Cath (cover)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week 92!!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• Sell it all... - thoughts of abundance and scarcity
• Innocence is more important than life - Controversial thoughts for a common Sunday
• I've been playing around with Musing.io - Loving it so far
• Are you thinking about running for witness?
• Talent is overrated...

Sort:  

@meno you are amazing! massive nods this end for your picks this week, huge love to you always and everything you do here, you are talented, encouraging, thought-provoking and an absolutely blessing to have in this community. huge love to you

thank you my friend! much love

Thanks a lot for your mention! greetings!!! So glad you liked it!

Great week of music. Thanks for your picks and congratulations to everyone! We love the music on Steemit!

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 92 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Meno, he de confesar que a veces hago un esfuerzo GRANDE por tratar de escribirte algo en ingles para luego borrarlo y darme un facepalm. Gracias, quisiera explicarte lo mucho que significa, pero para resumir: Me comeria una pizza con piña por ti!.

Mate I know we have had our differences and haven't exactly got off on the best of foots, but I wanna say thank you for picking me for your 1st place and equally for your kind words. If you would like, i would like to do a personalised art piece for you (as I also do digital art). If it's something of interest, please send me a photo that means something to you to my email and I will be happy to work on it for you.

[email protected]

Once again, much appreciated for your support and encouragement : )

I'm glad we are past it myself - Cheers

Congrats (and COOKIE!) for everyone selected!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74