Steemit Open Mic Week 89: Sleep (Savatage cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hey folks!
Just came home from a gig, pretty exhausted but still in the mood for some music. For some reason I decided to do this cover version of the song "Sleep". It is an acoustic ballad by one of my favorite (metal!) bands called Savatage - I will do an "Awesome Music" Steemit post like I did for Symphony X.
Unfortunately, the band does not exit anymore - they turned into the multi-platinum rock theater experience Trans-Siberian Orchestra. However, they still produce some awesome music and play this song live from time to time.

Sleep

Hey there you
Way out there in the distance
Can you hear me
Are you there

I know it's late
So please forgive my persistence
But I'm hanging
Do you care

So lay back
Call off the attack
'Cause if you look deep
Dreams are nothing that I lack
And all I seek
A final chance to speak
And I would let the whole thing keep
If I could just sleep

Hey there you
Way out there could you show me
Just a signal
Or a sign

That after all
All these years that you've known me
And I'm not just killing time

So lay back
Call off the attack
'Cause if you look deep
Dreams are nothing that I lack
And all I seek
A final chance to speak
But I would let the whole thing keep
If I could just sleep

As I lay there late at night
Building castles in the air
Out of alibis and all those little lies
And then I look inside
And pray that I don't care
I don't care
I don't care
Hey there you way out there in the distance

Sort:  

Nice job! Very well done! Keep up the good work!

Thanks so much - I'll do my very best! :)

This is from Edge Of Thorns. I dig this song a lot. Really great version here! The guitar sounds awesome, and your vocal is perfect. Way to go, and thanks for sharing this!

Hey Dino, did not expect any Sava-Fans here! That is so cool - I love the band. And Edge of Thorns is a killer album. Thanks for your kind words. Raise the fist of the metal child! :)

This is such a great cover of the song! Your voice and guitar skills are impeccable and it is evident that you have a passion for music!
I look forward to hearing more songs soon 😏

Thanks so much Sarah! So you also know the band and the song? There are some more (Savatage) songs to come ;)

Great! Look Forward to hearing them!

great job ^^

I really like the color of your voice ^^
you mentioned gig? What does your band play?
I gig myself quite often, especially during summers

Hey Sven, thanks so much! I played a small solo gig at a festival nearby here in Germany. With my band Dead Man's Boogie (https://www.facebook.com/deadmansboogie/) we are also playing some shows and are about to release our new album pretty soon :) Stay tuned & Keep on rocking! Cheers to Croatia!

Awesome man, gonna check your band out definitely :D
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73