Steemit Open Mic Week 136, Fortunato Chelleri's fifth fuguesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago

This is my entry for the Steemit Openmic Contest week 136.

Fortunato Chelleri (1690 -1757) was an Italian Baroque composer. Chelleri’s father was from German origin, but he had migrated to Italy and married an Italian woman. Fortunato Chelleri received training in Parma and Piacenza in singing, playing the cello and keyboard instruments and in composition. In his early career he was moderately successful composer of operas. Later in live he came in the service of Johann Philipp Franz von Schönborn, prince-bishop of Würzburg. After the death of von Schönberg Chelleri joined the service of the landgrave Karl of Hesse-Kassel and moved to the town of Kassel. There he remained until his death.
Several of Chelleri’s instrumental compositions survive till today. Among them 6 Fughe per il organo, composed around 1725. They are works that forshadow the galant and even the classical period.

The fifth of these fugues is more like an 'Inventio' then like a fugue. It is a sunny work, as one could expect of an Italian composer. Full of wit and energy this fifth fugue is a joy to play.

All six fugues are available on my site: http://partitura.org/index.php/chelleri-fortunato/

Sort:  

Not my usual type of music but you played it really well. There was a nice tempo to the composition that i haven't heard often in classical before.

I know organ music is not every one's cup of tea. Thanks for listening to it anyway!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi partitura,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Such a nice piece. Classical music for me is something that even it is way older than us, there is still that magical substance that keeps us listening to it. The music can be uplifting or sometimes it is haunting. The emotions that it inspires even without any lyrics makes it amazing. Your rendition is wonderful and I can listen to it over and over again.

Thank you for this wonderful share. Cheers!

I thank you for your kind words. I love classical music very much, and it is nice to know that some of that emotion touches you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for making these available on your website. I will hopefully get around to playing through a few.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is super cool @partitura 👌
I like to try keyboard but I end up my Guitar for now. I just wish you all the best for the open mic contest 👍
I would have wondered if @curie haven't curated this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, @bloggerkrunal. I wish I coukkd play the guitar but I have to stick to my keyboards. Luckily I have three of them on my organ... 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @partitura! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I like it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72