OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 105steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic6 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Before I begin, please indulge me with a few words about our esteemed Sponsors

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Please, VOTE for These WITNESSES...

IMPORTANT: Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk as witnesses! @pfunk is our biggest supporter, and plays a major role in helping to fund, the Open Mic contest each week.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

After a temporary dip back down to the 21 level, @pfunk has fought his way back up to #18 on the witness list! Let's keep him there, shall we? Better yet, let's keep him climbing up the ladder toward number 1!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

In addition to @pfunk, I am also adding @curie, @fulltimegeek, @helpie, @lukestokes, and @aggroed to my short list of “must-vote-for” witnesses who support the platform in general, and Open-Mic venue specifically.


You can vote for each of these witnesses right now by going directly to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

With all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 105

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @natvegas – Fireflies - (Cover)

@Natvegas crushed this cover straight away. Check him out… No doubt he takes first place here in week 105!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@natvegas/steemit-open-mic-week-105-owl-city-fireflies-acoustic-cover-by-nat-vegas

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @moccamonica – Feeling Good - (Cover)

How much do I love, Mocca? I lost count of the many ways. What I do know is that this cover in tandem with @abelfernandez just gave me one more reason to love her more than I already do!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@moccamonica/t5nsw695

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @roman.musica - Loli Molina por - (Cover)

It’s been a long while since we’ve heard from Roman… With his entry this week, it’s crystal clear that he has not lost his magical touch!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@roman.musica/steemit-open-mic-semana-105-brillo-y-relieve-de-loli-molina-por-roman-musica-cover

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @miguelblanco – Traje De Azul - (Original)


My soul brother, Miguel just knocked me to my knees with this funkified jazz-filled gem. You knocked this one right out of the park brother!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@miguelblanco/steemit-open-mic-semana-105-tema-original-traje-de-azul-by-miguelblanco

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @dustinseth – Make Believe - (Original)


Dustin grabbed me with this one straight out of the gate – and never let go! Great composition and performance from a rather fine artist…
https://steemit.com/openmic/@dustinseth/steemit-open-mic-week-105-make-believe

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @wilins – Animales - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@wilins/steemit-openmic-week-105-animales-original-song-esp-eng

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@yisusgtr, @ilazramusic, @isaria, @donlucho, @danieldedosd2, @mayneth, @dreamrafa, @drewley, @eliasalejandro, @elisonr13, @enriquesalgadoc, @tarotbyfergus, @edwardstobia, @gibber, @lk666, @juliopalomo, @cabelindsay, and @leomolina!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Thx for voting for our witness

Sure thing, @steem-bounty!
Thank you...

As I told you before, it's just great to be among your picked ones! Thanks a lot my friend!

Congrats to all the great artists on openmic!

I love you more, Passion ❤

YAY !!! I made your honourable mentions ....

Thank you so much sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12