Steemit Open MIc week #149 "Vrať se" (cover)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago

For this week I selected a song called "Vrať se" (Come Back) by Robert Krestan and his band Druha Trava (Second Grass). Probably not so many people outside of Czech Republic know this band. Which is a pity, I think they have many amazing songs. Off course there is a language barrier, but their music is outstanding...
As always there is a challenge of playing that which many instruments play together just on a single guitar. (And playing it in DADGAD tuning doesn't make the matter any easier.) So I had to combine licks by dobro, bass, guitar and banjo + rhythm and chords. Even though it's far cry from being perfect I had lots of fun trying . I hardly played anything else for the last couple of weeks.

Lyrics:

V pohyblivých píscích tvých věčných jmen
snad nezmizely milióny těch,
která jsem ti dával, sám poztrácen
v pohyblivých píscích tvých věčných jmen.

Ref: Vrať se, jsem zpitej a sám
jsem dokonalej popel z cigaret,
už se nebráním ani nezpovídám,
vrať se zpět, zpět, zpět.

Já oslepím svý koně, zradím cokoli,
když jen kývneš, když se mihneš na schodech,
tak podívej se na mě, na jezdce o holi,
už bych oslepil svý koně, zradil cokoli.

Ref: Vrať se, jsem zpitej a sám
jsem dokonalej popel z cigaret,
už se nebráním ani nezpovídám,
vrať se zpět, zpět, zpět.

Oslepím svý koně, zradím cokoli....

English translation:

In shifting sands of your eternal names
hopefully didn't disappear those millions of names
I was giving you while lost myself
In shifting sands of your eternal names

Chorus:Come back I am drunk and alone
I am a perfect ash from cigarette
I am neither defending myself nor confessing
Come back, back, back...

I will blind my horses I'll betray anything
just when you nod,
just for a glimpse of you on the staircase
just look at me
the horseman with a crutch
I'd blind my horses I'd betray anything

Chorus:Come back I am drunk and alone
I am a perfect ash from cigarette
I am neither defending myself nor confessing
Come back, back, back...

I will blind my horses I'll betray anything

And OpenMic crew - thank you again for keeping up your good work: @luzcypher @pfunk @soundlegion @krystle @meno @passion-ground @verbal-d @curie @isaria

Sort:  

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Thanks for your support!

wow, congratz on transcribing that on dadgad, it sounds beautiful! Never heard of this band, thanks for the English translation, loving the lyrics as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Ya they are really good. Their frontman Robert Krestan got 2 grammy awards 2 years in a row with a different band. They were also really good, but I prefer this one. I'll send you few links on fb. They also get some famous guests sometimes playing with them.

Friend @shephard, I am delighted with this post, you have a beautiful voice and you play the guitar in an extraordinary way, all my respect and consideration for your musical work. Congratulations...

Thank you, my friend! I mostly play in DADGAD tuning. It makes the sound quite different from regular tuning. It can be more sweet, more melodic.

Congratulations @shephard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @shephard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70