STEEMIT OPENMIC WEEK 85- Original Vocalise on "Blue Daniel"

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

This week I'm dipping a toe into the river of original music with a vocalise I wrote on a jazz standard by Frank Rosalino called "Blue Daniel".

What the hell is a vocalise? Is what you may be asking if you are not a jazz musician... Vocalise is when you take a tune that has already been written or an improvised solo and write lyrics to it. This technique was used extensively by Jon Hendrix, who did some really great stuff on Miles' "Freddie Freeloader" for example.

So I wrote the lyrics here as well as the guitar intro (basically just the melody over a reharmonization of the chord changes) and did some improvising in the middle. The intro is really pushing the limits of my abilities so that was fun.

I also brought in a friend of mine on upright bass (it's me) starting after the intro. I hope to have a full fledged original tune finished for next week, I've been putting a lot of work into it so I'm pretty excited about that.

Anyways. Here she blows.

Sort:  

hands down feeling the vibe on this one soo cool i loved every second

Thank you very much my friend, this was one of those tunes that started taking on a bit of a life of its own I think.

I loved this song. You have such a warm vocal tone, reminiscent of Chet Baker.
Great stuff!

Blissful blessings and smiles
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thank you very much. I do love me some Chet Baker, that is very kind of you :)

Awesome, cool jazz for a sunday morning. You got technique man. Please dont stop making music.

Thank you :) music always drags me back when I get too far away... she is an irresistible force.

Damn, man the ease and excellent artistry just makes this simple song very very beautiful. I loved the double bass and I really wish you could tell us the chords you used. I just followed you man.

Thanks man, I must admit I spent a lot of time getting that intro under my fingers and it definitely made me a better guitarist. I will write those changes out and post them here for sure.

Thank you Lord Potato :)

That is am awesome mellow song/performance. I loved it.

Thank you much. Mellow is definitely what I excell at.

great brother that great voice, that good song and interpretation, incredible

Thank you. You guys had an awesome post this week as well :) The groove was super tight, plus the singer and the production were killer. This contest is pretty much my only source for music listening right now there is so much awesomeness going on here.

Sooooo gooooood... my buddy @jo-el and i are doing tunes in this style.. i call it neo soul folk but ours is more on the folk end.

Thanks :) I'd love to hear some .

Getting stuff done is a problem for us.. we are working on a conor oberst cover to post before i leave for Guatemala

Lovely vibe. You have a nice voice for that kinda music. It really suits that style. Excellent job and congrats on your placement this week!

Thank you, I've been opening up and relaxing vocally lately I think, partly because of this community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73