Steemit Open mic Week 113 : My Bad(original)

in #openmic5 years ago

openMic copy.jpg
Steemit Open mic Week 113 : My Bad(original)

I don't have too much to say to justify this song, so here it is...

Full Lyrics:
One diddle-day upon a camping trip
In the Northern Woods we found a camping spot
Spitting out stories with my old friend Joe
Smoking squares and drinking quite a lot... and smoking pot

We were reelin' and dealin' and hanging out
watching as the sun slid out of sight
That's about the time that the sky fell down
we felt a sudden rise in farenheit... and a blinding light

It came from the sky, I'm telling you true
It came from the sky on a ray
40 trees are missing from the hole that it blew
Now what do we do?
Fuckin' A

From that crater came the damnedest thing
Joe dropped his reel and grabbed his jug of punch
It looked like a giant pterodactyl now
I felt like me and Joe might look like lunch

It gave a polite grin with footlong teeth
and crazy starlight pouring from it's eyes
One handlike thingy held an olive branch
the other held some Elvis merchandise... and it was nice

It said greetings to you humans I come here in peace
On this fine northern midsummer day
But every word it spoke would crumble the trees
turn the water to steam
Fuckin' A

Freedom
The word was put directly in my head
Freedom
That's just what the pterodactyl said
I'm offering freedom from this cold dark place
if you would just walk with me by my side
But around the pterodactyl were 10 foot flames
and bones of other folks who took that ride

No Joe sticking with my own life now
if we go with him we'll burn and we will bleed... and he agreed

We said Mr. Pterodactyl I think you are cool
Mr. Pterodactyl-i-a
But everything you touch, it bursts into flame
and that's kind of lame
Fuckin' A

He said my bad
Trying to give you a payday, not a death ray
my bad
Trying to give you a birthday, not doomsday
my bad
He said my bad
and went away

longlife2.jpg

Sort:  

This is excellent, tarotbyfergus!

Thanks Goran:)

I had to translate the lyrics because I speak Spanish and I did not want to miss anything, it's a great story, you have a lot of talent to write, you gave a lot of life to your song with that spectacular sound of your guitar, I fell in love with that sound and that rhythm, you also have a very good voice friend, a big hug from Venezuela @tarotbyfergus

Thanks @naideth!
I hope it still makes sense after a translation. It barely made sense before the translation!
Blessings to Venezuela:)

I am so glad that you shared the lyrics as well. When you sang it was a bit fast and I would regret if I would miss such a great story about a pterodactyl :) He looks like a cool fellow ;) Your lyrics are as positive as your singing and playing your guitar. It's such a great performance and a 'feel well' song :)

But it's sad that it left you at the end. You could have kept it as a pet. I'm sure your family would be happy to take care of a dinosaur ;)

Thank you for sharing! It's been a lot of fun to listen to you ;)

I did sing it fast. Without the lyrics, I don't even think I would know what I was talking about.
I also just wrote it, so it wasn't committed to memory at all, and I had to read it as I was singing.
I'm glad you liked it!
When I was writing it, I really couldn't tell if anyone would get it...

Hi @tarotbyfergus, the way you sang this song was so unique. I like how you present it. The meaning in this song was so familiar when we were teenage, the thing we did and experienced. What a good memory. And you have sang it in a way that we were still young. I like it.

In the cover of the song, you put it as original. Do you mean you composed this song?

hell yeah he did! This guy is a wild wordsmith and one of the Goliaths of Steemit SongWriters last year; He kids thee not! (although some of the memories in the song may be slight abstractions of the truth I fear)

Wow, thanks for letting me know @basilmarples. I felt honored able listen to his song. I was very impressed with this song and how he sang it. This is the difference between a song writer and a normal person like me, I guess. :p Song writer knew how to deliver the song with emotion, people like me just sing it like no difference. Open our mouth and sing as long as in right tune. We consider done :P

hmmm.....now I kind of want to hear you try! Maybe you could enter the next steemit openmic and then we will know for sure how you sing :D

Believe me, you won't want listen to it. Even a small kid can sing better than me LOL.. I only able sing while I taking shower :P

Thanks Basil:D
No abstractions though, this song is 100% true.

Actually I put the punctuation in the wrong place.

This song is .100% true

haha. A simple punctuation error can make the world of difference XD

Thank you @oliviackl
I did write this song, and I finished it 30 seconds before making the video.
I'm glad you liked it!

You are the man @tarotbyfergus. 30 seconds already started the video. Felt honored be your first audience. Music must be inside you naturally if not you won't be able present it as if you were well prepared.

hey fergus nice song... you lied to us.. at the beginning of the post you tell us don't have to much to say about it. but in your youtube channel in the description say "Based on a true story..." i'm kidding dude, your not a liar. maybe just forgot to share that part ... I wish you the best of luck from Venezuela. looking forward for your next original :))

There are parts of it that are true.

  1. I have a friend named Joe.
  2. I have been camping.

This story is based on those truths:)

This song is just excellent! I can see you're actually a talented musician. You're a songwriter, guitarist and a singer as well, that's awesome. I will look forward to hearing more from you for sure, there's talent and a lot of effort in what you do.

Thanks @smanuels!
Steemit is such a great platform for songwriters:D

I amazes me how many songs you know.

Luzcypher's Announcement For Steem Witness


steemit_open_mic_thank_you_for_playing.png

Busker's chops:)

Fuckin a man. Great song. Fucking pterodactyls.

Thanks @shookriya!
Just another song about the pteradactyl menace:)

This song is fire. I really like your storytelling original songs a lot. Great job bro @tarotbyfergus, more please. A team up with @basilmarples would be epic too :)

Thanks @verbal-d!
Basil is one of my favorite singers in the world, and I would love to work with him in any capacity.
I think @basilmarples and myself should take that as a challenge!!! :D:D:D

Thank you for this performance, that reminds me one of my favorite singer and composer Russian origin, he could just free write and sing just immediately, you have a feeling he is thinking in lyrics, so the songs were very popular because there were stories in them. You could learn something from them and it was real sense in them. I like your text very much and that is great that you also submitted the lyrics, because sometimes when I listen, I am distracted from the text by listening to music and instruments. You song and guitar play both were amazing and of course, really interesting song

Thank you stef1!
Who is the Russian singer?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39