Steemit Open Mic Week 92 - "Lawrence Kansas" (Josh Ritter cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

This is the first song I learned to play, when I was starting the guitar. It's been something of a go-to ever sense, I just love the structure and the lyrics. This recording is pretty rough, but hey, it's western music, right? The sound of the dry and dusty plains.

Lyrics:

Dirt roads and dry land farming might be the death of me
But I can't leave this world behind
Debts are not like prison where there's hope of getting free
And I can't leave this world behind

I've been from here to Lawrence, Kansas
Trying to leave my state of mind
Trying to leave this awful sadness
But I can't leave this world behind

South of Delia there's a patch out back by the willow trees
And I can't leave this world behind
It's a fenced in piece of nothing where I hear voices on my knees
And I can't leave this world behind

Some prophecies are self-fulfilling
But I've had to work for all of mine
Better times will come to me, God willing
Cause I can't leave this world behind

This world must be frightening everybody's on the run
And I can't leave this world behind
My house is a wooden one on the ruins of a wooden one
Seems I can't leave this world behind

Preacher says when the Master calls us
He's gonna give us wings to fly
But my wings are made of hay and corn husks
So I can't leave this world behind

Particularly "Some prophesies are self-fulfilling, I've had to work for all of mine" is one of my favorite lines ever.

All author rewards from this post go toward awarding bonus prizes for original songs in Open Mic.

Sort:  

And you can sing??!! What can't you do? You did great, I really enjoyed that!

And you can sing??!! What
Can't you do? You did great, I
Really enjoyed that!

                 - themanwithnoname


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Well, I'm pretty terrible on stilts, for one.

How about with spring stilts?

Just stopping by to tell you that we featured you in our Cover Wednesday. Yay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77