Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 131 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago


Steemit Open Mic Week 131

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, @PRC & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @skyblues' "The Moon Over Bourbon Street'" By Sting Cover Song

This was so smooth and I was really feeling the groove and vibes with this fantastic cover entry. You have a very experienced singing voice and perform and play at a high caliber. Very impressed and inspired. Thank you for the wonderful music my friend.

https://steemit.com/curie/@skyblues/steemit-open-mic-week-131-the-moon-over-bourbon-street


2. @shephard's "Ruh Le Gaya" By Shujaat Khan Cover Song

I love Indian music, and this is beyond fantastic. You play the style and sing the majestic scales quite pleasantly. Immediately put at peace and journeying through the melodic terrains. I enjoyed this from start to finish and can't listen to it enough. Thank you for this far away gem brought to us up close.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@shephard/steemit-open-mic-week-131-ruh-le-gaya-cover


3. @graemesaxton's "The War Inside Of Me" By The Lost Dog Street Band Cover Song

The battle is still sieging in all of us and you have won the war of blazing emotion. This was a very soulfelt and deep performance. You poured your heart and spirit into this one and it translated very well into the gift of music you give us this week. Great job.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@graemesaxton/steemit-open-mic-week-131-cover-of-the-lost-dog-street-bands-song-the-war-inside-of-me


4. @drewley's "Viva La Vida" By Coldplay Cover Song

Superb piano skills as always my friend, and you and your friend Christina, @christinasings, do such lovely duet performances together. I highly enjoyed this cover this week, you can't go wrong with Coldplay, and it was pleasantly smooth to the ears. Looking forward to what you both perform next.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-131-viva-la-vida-by-coldplay


5. @orlandogonzalez's "Ángel Para Un Final" By Silvio Rodríguez Cover Song

You gave us a great and moving performance this week bro. You sang skilfully with such care and intention and emphasis. The pain and passion intertwine into the musical layers of this beautiful song. You did this cover song justice with your own rendition. Thank you for this memorable entry. Looking forward to more.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@orlandogonzalez/steemit-openmic-week-131-angel-para-un-final-silvio-rodriguez-version-by-orlandogonzalez





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )





7. @xxxplasticman's "Coma White" By Marilyn Manson Cover Song

**

https://steemit.com/openmic/@xxxplasticman/steemit-openmic-week131-cover-coma-white-by-marilyn-manson





Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 131


@jubei333 @fishyculture @sayury @steevc @rbatan @nahupuku


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Thanks for your supporting words and the appreciation about my performance! I will always be excited to share my work with you!

Thanks so much for including me man and thank you for the kind words

You're very welcome bro!

Ill legit give you all 275 units of steem that I have if you yourself can sing Bob Dylan's tambourine man and play it fingerstyle.... :)

Lol challenge not accepted. The song doesn't interest me, I've never been big on Bob Dylan, and I am not adept at guitar. You did a nice job though this week.

Fair enough...

Thank you for your choice but also for your inspiring words. It is very amazing that somebody feels this strong about what I played. For me Indian music is also my big love. I am happy somebody is sharing that love and is touched by my interpretation of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29