Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 139 (Original Blog)

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 139

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, @Luzcypher, @Curie, @Aggroed, @Helpie, @Lukestokes, @PRC & @Teamsteem as witnesses here https://steemit.com/~witnesses, all of whom are our biggest supporters who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @danieldedosd2's "Motivos" By Italo Pizzolante Balbi Cover Song

This entry was more than stellar and fantastic, the lyrics were woven well and quite romantic, the words and your performance speaks to a woman who sees past a man's antics, leaving her swooned and cheeks maroon and slightly frantic. If songs had a scent, this would be pleasantly aromatic, the impact was gigantic, and my approval almost automatic. Calming as white noise, babies sleeping to just static, but the way you sung this song was so unforced, so natural, and organic. You erupted the hearts of women, as their feelings became volcanic, and you worked upon this body of art like a skilled and crafty mechanic, I listened to how you bent the sounds and played with the iambic, I translated the lyrics and was impressed by your musical tactics. In no way shape or form am I being sarcastic, the way you flowed this cover song was unpredictable yet moving, oceanic.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@danieldedosd2/steemit-openmic-week-139-cover-motivos-by-danieldedosd2


2. @drewley's "Who’ll Stop the Rain?" By Creedence Clearwater Revival Cover Song

Who'll stop the rain? Who'll stop the pain? When the rain stops, does my pain stop? But without these rain drops... My tears are no longer hidden, and these emotions I can't help but show, are socially forbidden. I'm hunched over and sitting, but I might as well be bedridden. The sun is hard to find, and the wind is quite chilling. It hurts to laugh, hey, who am I kidding? I am 5 feet deep in this grave I'm digging...I wish someone else would do my own bidding, I feel out of place and this coffin seems to be the only place I fit in...I gave all that I was given, somehow I keep on living, but I need more than only rain to stay driven. I'll give it one more day, and hope and pray the rays have risen... This was a beautiful song and cover choice @drewley, a strong melody delivered with poise and passion, this didn't pass you by, this was another great performance, a smooth controlled flow, far from fast torrents, recognition and praise is what this entry warrants, keeping sharing your gift of music and its importance.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-139-who-ll-stop-the-rain-creedence-clearwater-revival


3. @darrenclaxton's "Favourite Days" Original Song

On some of our favourite days, we still have wavering faith, often times we're favouring taste, and the tangibles felt like a labouring place. We're combining the elements, a vapouring blaze, connecting our souls with a neighbouring gaze, we're so easy to break, like a papering glaze, so enjoy every moment, no endangering daze. Your singing was a breeze from home, comforting those who feel alone, lifting us up when we are looking down, with your healing vibes and nurturing sounds. We can have everything and feel like nothing, we can have nothing and feel like everything. But when we sing, and share the love we bring, our days can be favoured and savoured, as we glide on hope's wings. Keep being a light in our community, and outpouring this musical purity, that's curing you and curing me, that's a surety.

https://steemit.com/@darrenclaxton/steemit-open-mic-week-139-favourite-days-original-song-by-darren-claxton


4. @lk666's "Dark God Of The Universe" Original Song

Many are 'short' of full power, Lord Farquaad. For there is a malevolent force, a dark god. It wants claim of all life, its mission's embarked on. A universal desire, black magic and part wand. Its tongue is cunning, its mind's a blade, be sure to evade when it gives you a sharp nod. You don't want acknowledgement, stay far gone. It brings much pain, hurt, sorrow and scars long. It preys beneath water, with strength of a shark's brawn. And many who lack knowledge, are just swimming in Carp ponds. It hunts above land, between sands and tarred lots, it will mark you and maim you with all of its hard plots. Your song was poetic as it was gripping, I pictured a beautiful art frame as its paint was stripping, time faded to nothing, but you stood with paint brushing, and shared with us a morbidly moving lamentation, reminding us the present, we're facing, the future's yet to awaken, and if we fall backwards, our past is waiting. Thanks for sharing this gem, the gift you have given has been received and taken.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@lk666/steemit-open-mic-week-139-original-dark-god-of-the-universe


5. @ricardomello's "Repentización” Original Song

The grunge and grit is what electric rock provides, the depths of where soul heart and mind collide, driven to the brinks of our limits, many lost in the belly of the beast as tidbits, but the spiritual consensus is that we are a mass of individuals who live life repent-less, seeking vengeance, opportunists for an entrance, for our interests, but we must not be so senseless, lest we are caught off guard defenseless, because our greatness can be tremendous, and but downfall won't be torment-less. We must find the balance as you have done in your entry, your playing was focused as a guardian sentry, your soul told a story through musical whim, and your guitar brought us light when the sky had turned dim.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ricardomello/steemit-open-mic-semana-139-repentizacion-con-guitarra-electrica-por-ricardomello





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )





6. @rodrigo98's "The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of Time" By Koji Kondo Cover Song

**

https://steemit.com/dtube/@rodrigo98/tohm2woc


7. @juanhobos' "MPC Jam" Original Song

**

https://steemit.com/openmic/@juanhobos/steemit-open-mic-week-139-mpc-jam-original





Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 139


@jubei333 @rbatan @raymondelaparra @montycashmusic @eliasroman1595 @juanchez @organduo @nancymoral @luisalbertoulloa @barski
@jhon.slowman


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

@ verbal-d your words touched my heart and give me a lot of encouragement to move forward. I wish you all the best in what you undertake friend ...

You are most welcome @danieldedosd2, definitely keep going alway, at all costs, and at any lengths, for we know the love of music is a powerful thing, and music itself is quite powerful in both the right and wrong hands. Keep blessing the world with your talents, and thank you for your kind words.

Thanks for the amazing feedback mate!
Your way with words go undeterred and I appreciate it most
For the life we live and days we breathe will some day fade like ghosts

Thanks again brother!
DC🎼

Posted using Partiko Android

You are always welcome brother.
I appreciate the follow up rhyme response/poetry
That is a boost and a motivator to keep going.
Many many thanks to you too

so fifth..you broke my heart x) just joking.. nice post dude! really good musicians up there

Congratulations man, thank you for checking out this post, everyone gives their all and the results are always amazing, thanks for being a part of this family with us. Keep up the great music.

Good post. Congratulacion...

Thank you very much @mariajruizb, I hope your voice is healing, we miss your singing, your passion, and positive energy. God bless

Excelentes músicos! Excelente escogencia! Felicidades a todos!!

Thank you very much my friend.

Thanks bro <3
Loved the review of the tune and that you got the song so well, it always puts a smile on my face :)

You are very welcome bro, yeah the song was deep, and inspired me to write such poetry, glad to make you smile bro, stay blessed and rock on.

Thanks again Verbal <3
Many blessings to you and yours as well :)

You're very welcome and thank you. Oh just a quick heads up, @ausbitbank asked me to inform everyone that you should use the "palnet" tag for your open mic entry posts so you get more Pal Tokens when he upvotes your entry, the tag doesn't have to be in first position. Please pass on the message to others in the open mic community if you get the chance. Thanks again

thanks dude, nice to meet you @verbal-d

Posted using Partiko Android

You're very welcome, nice to meet you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28