Unofiicial BONUS PRIZES for original songs in English/Instrumentals in Steemit Open Mic Week 96

in #openmicsupport6 years ago

I give out a small unofficial award for some of my favorite original songs in English or instrumentals that are part of the Open Mic contest.

How do I participate?

  • Make a valid entry to Open Mic.
  • Make sure the title makes it clear that the song is original and in English or an instrumental.
  • Be someone other than me.

(Sorry Spanish musicians. You guys are great but I don't understand well enough to evaluate the songs.)

Everyone I select gets these prizes:

  • A full upvote from me on their post.
  • 4 SBD transfer
  • One more full upvote if they comment on this post.

My prizes will be taking a two-week hiatus. Not because of anything to do with them, but because I will be traveling and I don't expect to have time to review the songs. I will be back in Week 99 - and hopefully my voice will be OK by then. No feeder post this week because I tried to sing and that was a very bad idea, so probably no second round coming. Three winners this week.

Winners in no particular order:

"Over the Stars" by @carlosvidal

I really like the mood changes in this song, especially the transitions between fingerpicking and strumming.

"Spend the Night" by @wethepatsies

One of the things I'm looking for in an instrumental is momentum, and this definitely has it. Very much the sort of song that's rolling downhill all the way.

"Springtime Chains" by @shookriya

Hey, I picked something with lyrics! If you've been following along the last couple of weeks and think I need a vacation so I can come back and like things with lyrics again, I will not argue with you. But I actually didn't pick this for the lyrics, I picked it because I have a tendency to drift into whistling harmonies while I'm listening to these and then you completely picked up the same one and I found that very amusing.

Open Mic Support

I have a challenge for other people to do just what I'm doing here: create a nonprofit curation post featuring songs that you love from Open Mic and giving the post rewards to the performers. I'd really love it if we could get a whole bunch of these going. Basic details are in this post. I'm pledging a 100% upvote to help get your posts' growth started, and to make sure you get something out of it, I'll buy you a @steembasicincome share (worth 0.5 Steem) every week you participate.

Feel free to take my format or create one of your own. Mention me in the post, or come to the SBI Discord where I have a channel just for this project, or hit me up on the Open Mic Discord or anywhere else you happen to see me. The tag for this project is #openmicsupport

Hey! Before you upvote this post!


If you want to upvote because you liked the songs, go upvote their posts!
(If their posts have paid out, see if they've commented here and give them an upvote.)
If you want to upvote this one also that's fine but please reward the songwriters first.

Sort:  

Hey thanks man =). I think that will be a trombone/whistling soli in the finished version...
I’ve been thinking about this initiative you do and I think I will be joining the bandwagon soon. Life is a bit scattered now but I’ll be putting much more time into this platform next month. I’ve also thought about applying to join the mesopotamians =) but I think I read that you have to have under 300 sp to start, is that right?

The last application period was under 300 SP, but that's not universal. It's based on where there's free voting power at the moment. Circle back around when you've settled in in India and I'll see if I can find a spot for you.

Awesome. I will do that.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hello @tcpolymath, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05