OP Gaming Weekly Discussion Thread: June 10, 2018

in #opgaming6 years ago

Hey there, it's @ddrfr33k. We're back again, coming at you with another weekly discussion forum. It's coming at you a little late, but that's the way these things go. Life happens, we get drunk, we forget, we have to work with a hangover... Like I said, life happens. We're still human, after all. But regardless, we're still @opgaming! We're TOO OP TO BE PUT DOWN! But what are you waiting for? Me to stop talking? Well, we got a little surprise for you.

This week's theme is:

FAVORITE CONSOLE

Tell us a little bit about your favorite console. It could be the oldest of the old, or it could be the latest and greatest. The big thing, though, is to tell us why.

Today's response comes from none other than...me! @ddrfr33k! No, really. I'm responding to this one.

Anyway!

Growing up, I really didn't have a ton of consoles. The only ones I really had were the ones I could scrape together enough cash to buy second hand (that didn't happen often...) or were given to me by my parents. So yeah, I rocked that Sega Genesis(Megadrive) for almost 6 years! But when it comes to my favorite platform overall, I would have to say the Sega Dreamcast takes the win on this one.

I didn't own one of these when I was younger. Hell, I couldn't afford one when the console started dying, either. I didn't buy my first Dreamcast until 2009, and didn't really build out my collection of the games until much more recently. But the console still stands out to me. I loved the initial marketing for the console. Being able to rent it from Hollywood Video before it launched on 9/9/99? That was a ballsy marketing tactic. But what sold me on the Dreamcast was the traveling previews that toured the country, stopping at Best Buy stores. My dad pulled me out of school a few hours early to go check out the previews. They didn't have many games, but the games they showed off are considered classics. They had Soul Calibur, Sonic Adventure, Ready 2 Rumble Boxing, Crazy Taxi, NFL2k (Still one of my favorite football games) it was everything that people wanted to see in an upcoming console.

For as weird as the controller looked, it's actually really comfortable, and it works really, really well. The VMU was everything the Pocketstation wanted to be. The screen showing through the controller was a brilliant idea on Sega's part, especially with the aforementioned NFL2k. You could plan your play on the VMU, so your friends couldn't see what you were plotting. MvC2 had a little mini-game to play with your friends. Skies of Arcadia did the same thing. It's awesome.

It was a console ahead of its time in so many ways, but it still gets a lot of love from the community. It's one of those consoles that has a lasting power to it. One of these days, I'll get back to collecting for it. There's so many titles out there I want to pick up...

And now it's your turn! Tell us about your favorite console, let us know what you love, why you love it, and why we should love it!


OP Gaming is an awesome group of awesome people, too OP to be put down! If you like talking about gaming, writing gaming posts, or if you want to hang out with some awesome gamers, OP Gaming is the place to be! Click the image below to join our discord!

OPG_4.png

Already a member, or simply want to help us grow so we can reward our members even more?
Please consider delegating SP to our cause:
25SP,50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP
Contact any of the admins in the discord if you need help!

Sort:  

My favorite system is probably the Game Boy Advance. It was one of the first systems I ever owned. Plus, the original model fits sooooo perfectly in my hands!
Other than nostalgia, it also had a lot of ports/remakes of older SNES, NES, and even a few Sega and Playstation games! Most of these ports can be argued to be worse than their original counterparts. But dispite a couple restrictions and compromises due to the hardware they were on, I honestly think they play just as well as the originals! Plus, It's mainly how kids in my age were introduced to such classics like Yoshi's Island, Kirby's Adventure/Nightmare in Dream Land, and Super Mario Bros. 3 among others!
Another thing is that the GBA was also portable. It would take a couple years for the SP to come out so I actually had a back light so I could see what I was doing, but still.XD I have fond memories of playing the GBA while riding in the car. I even had this awesome carrier case that looked like a giant GBA that could hold the system and multiple games!

This is very true. The GBA was a fantastic little item, and rather revolutionary, too!

While normally I would say SNES and that would be one, today I will say the original GameBoy. I played multiple games in the early - mid 90's a lot and when I heard Pokemon was coming out I would be waiting anxiously to be among the first to play it!

Of course my favorite console is the Sony PlayStation. Most expansive library of cutting edge (at the time) games of all kinds of genres. Great for collecting, great for playing, great all round

True that!

Playstation in all it's versions. I played my most memorable games on Sony's consoles.

I was a young boy when the NES landed on our shores and was instantly smitten.
Nintendo and their consoles have had a big place in my heart ever since, and I'm torn to say this, but I think my favourite console is:

Xbox 360

Coming hot of the experiences of the original Xbox, and build from the ground for Xbox Live this console defined what console gaming is today.
Friends list, online gaming, voice chat, achievements etc.

And one hell of a game line up.
Halo 3, 4, and Reach, Project Gotham Racing 3 & 4, Forza Motorsport 2, 3, and 4 , Forza Horizon.
Indie titles like Braid, Fez and Super Meat Boy.
And the best place to play multi platform titles.

And Red Ring of Death! Never forget :-D

Dude, RRoD cost Microsoft over $3 billion USD from 2008-2011. That mistake cost them, dearly.

All of my most memorable games were on Playstation 2
Especially all the Japanese horror games, and JRPGS.
N64 comes in second. ;]

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

SNES is definitely the best for me. I played Nintendo and the first Playstation the most, but I get the most fuzzy feelings from the SNES games that came out. I think they were the most fun, still kind of weird like early NES games but with a formula that gave you solid hours and hours of entertainment. I also fell in love with it all over again when I discovered ROMS and got to play all the games I had never played before, including some great Japanese ones that were really delightful.

Super Nintendo. Too many cherished memories.

My favorite console would be Playstaion 1 (yeah, I can say PS2 too because it can play PS1 games bu nostalgia plays a big role in why I love MY playstation.)

If I can choose handhelds it would be PSP in it's time (I only played my friend PSP for a while, and that made me really want my own, sadly the device's life ended before I could.)

Now, 3DS is my current favorite, which will most likely be beaten by Switch when I get one, as long as its future turns as I imagine. (and game freaks don't mess up the future of Pokemon!!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00