Downtown Mini Op

in #ophumanangels5 years ago

So I FINALLY made it to the library today. Hooray! That means I returned the DVD that was way, waaaaay overdue (^.^;), and got to do my mini-op I got the supplies together for weeks ago. Come along!

Step one: sit at a bus stop for a half hour+ waiting for your bus, while four in the opposite direction, three that were returning to the bus garage, and three of the other route pass you by. RTD sucks. At least it was a nice day.

Finally: liiiiibrary! So here's the mini op part: I have read about how hard it is for homeless women during their period. It's hard enough for anyone, but add to that no bathroom to shower and wash very well, and how expensive sanitary products are - and imagine having a leak and having to wash out your bloody underwear in a public restroom. Leaks happen. But when they have happened to me away from home, I usually had a backup in my bag and would stash the dirty ones there in plastic to wash at home. What if there was no "home" to go to?

So I left these in the bathroom at the library, where a lot of homeless folks spend time.

The note says, "Shark Week Solidarity! (free pads if you need them)". Stickers courtesy of @thekeyofh :)

I didn't take a photo IN the bathroom because people were in the stalls, and that would be creepy. XD So you're just gonna hafta trust me about where I left them. ;)

Liiiiiibrary

So then I went down to the 16 St Mall because there is a Target there now, and got two free pints of Ben&Jerry's with coupons. :D I also spent some coins I had in my coin purse on a can of black beans which was on my shopping list at home.

The other day I got a letter asking me to do a CDC survey with a $2 bill in it. I couldn't find any evidence online if it was real or a scam, but hey, $2 whether I did it or not. So since that was in my coin purse and I hadn't needed it at Target, I went ahead and gave it to a busker, rounding out my mini-op.

I thought as I was walking away, I hope he knows that $2 bills are real ...they're so rare some people haven't seen them before. I hope he googles it if he's unsure, instead of thinking I gave him fake money. XD

Mall side note: there was a skateboarding dog today! I would have taken a photo except we were crossing the street in opposite directions. :D

So that was my downtown adventure today. I hope y'all are doing well, and don't forget to share your random acts of kindness with the tag #ophumanangels to inspire others to join in! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What an action packed day, pulled out all the stops! I hope you're taking a big rest after this holy cow Phe, you are such a Human Angel, when you're not feeling great, and you get out there to ease another's burdens in life.

The op is perfect, so needed, so effing considerate!

Sending so many huggies to you, inspiring Steemian of the Year! xoxo You definitely made that busker's day as well, after the google search of course hehee!!


Aww, thank you. Huggies back! :) I hope the busker did google if he wasn't sure. XD

Honestly, I'm sure a lot of homeless folks are just as chronically ill as me, only it's harder for them because they have nowhere to rest. Goodness knows I'd have been kicked out years ago if I haven't gotten help so many times. So I can help as I am able, even if only a little. <3

What an awesome idea Phe!
💗💗💗💗

There's some serious action there Phe. Nice work! Bet it feels good getting the dvd back & doing this sweet OHA mission 💗🎶🦋
Some ladies are going to to be very grateful! Imagining moon time with water facility restrictions and supply shortage -- is so saddening to my heart. One of the hardest part to read of any book that touches on the subject. And, even just thinking about that reality reminds me to be grateful for what i have.

Exactly. I may not have much compared to some, but I have a lot compared to others.

Thats a busy day and so good of you to leave them in the Library stalls, of course we trust that you did taking photos in the bathroom would indeed have been very awkward

Extra, extra awkward because the library bathrooms have extra-short stall doors so you can literally see the people inside the stalls as you walk by and they're on the toilet. The main door to the restrooms were both propped open, too. Ostensibly this is because they are afraid of people doing drugs in the bathroom, but you know what I'd rather walk in on someone shooting up and HAVE PRIVACY WHEN I NEED TO POOP, THANKS. It's so dehumanizing.

Ohhh that sounds terrible, yes I to would rather have privacy

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.17% upvote from us for your 1112 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FirebirdVelitas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post is supported by @tipU upvote :)
@tipU voting service: instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30