HUMBLE GRATITUDE

Another fallen soldier.
image.jpg
I'm glad we had one last dinner together we drank a shitload. Very pissed. You helped me stay in school when I was a homeless street kid. No one else ever cared but you. When everyone else wanted me gone, you always let me stay. One of the hardest yet kindest and fairest men I ever known .😥In a school as you say (kiddy prison) as I called it with 3000 other students to blend in. You knew me well, the old saying the nail that sticks out gets hit with the hammer comes to mind. 😂 I know I wasn't the only one you ever helped. You were my high school head principle, we had many conversations as I was a bit too much for my teachers and their bullshit power trip. When they were wrong or unjust I would always let them know why and how. You would often say to me, "you know I have to punish you even though you are right." And once I said "what about her?" You smiled saying I can't reprimand my staff for this in front of students that would demean their power I will be talking to her. I was always happy to accept my punishment for my ways because you were fair and I was honest to you if I crossed the line or not. You knew I told the truth I knew the consequences for my actions and they were worth it, no matter what anyone said you always went with what I put to you and based your judgment on that alone. You comprehended my way that your system rules do not apply to me I had my own rules to live by based on my moral compass, We had our own agreement you got your job and I got mine kinda thing we can still be friends after that. I know deep in your heart never being able to tell me you liked my way. I will always remember the way you would smile at me when I enter your office each time. Saying hello what have we done this time? Often I reply, you already got the phone call you should know 😂😂most times saying you are not going to belittle me lets just skip the formalities and go straight to the punishment as I would go to your cupboard get a cane or two out cos I like to break one and hand them to you😈 you would always say. I can't punish you without a trial you may be innocent then that would make me wrong. I'd cut you short and say "I'm not. "😂. Not this time 😜. But no way I ever let you ever get away with it when I was in the right oL mate. But you were always there for me when I asked for your help you jumped in without a second thought even many years after I left. I love how when I arranged for us to have dinner together so I could discuss my son, you shit yourself when I told you he was at your school. Look in your eyes was priceless my old friend. One last trick I played on you ey!😂 Not only did you help keep my life on the correct path you also worked with me to help turn my son around. I never told him just how well acquainted we were till after he finished school.

Without you, I would be a different man and my family would not be the same. I still carry that one value you gave me. Strive to excel and always give 110%. They were your last words to me when I visited your office to say I am moving on. I shook your hand I bowed my head to you then looked up in your eyes while still holding your hand saying "I promise ,,,, you better Fucken believe it I will sir. " That was also the last time I ever called anyone sir. No one else have I ever looked up to like I did you that day and I still hold you in the same high respect as I ever have. You earned it. You have touched so many lives and helped so many people. You are true of heart.

Rip ol mate your job here is done. You've left big shoes to fill. I don't think anyone will ever manage. Sorry to say.

Now all that said and done not once did you ever see me weak or cry but you just watched me cry hours writing to you. Your last trick on me? A good reminder of the values I must continue to uphold. Taken me three years to be able to put this together for you. You are worth it oL mate let the shananagons rest while you do. Till we meet again old friend. You deserve the best!
Travel in peace my brother peace out.
Pic Google image

Sort:  

What a beautiful tribute to your friend...

Plenty didn't like him cos he was an arse kicker. Even turn up on a Monday with dark sun glasses the odd black eye. He liked to party. But as hard as he was. If there was one that needed help. He was there a real hands on man as busy as he was. First half of his day was spent dealing with the troubled ones. Funny how there are many stories of him making a difference. Place that big there was a line up outside his door till minimum first break. He dealt with them all individually. Very few could see him through the day like I did. It was only by appointment. Plenty did not return after one visit without the waiting period. The deputy and I also had similar relationship and he was ex cop. That one once said. You will make a great career criminal. I felt very isulted and let him know I disapproved. He added police will like you you got character. I was constantly in trouble for speaking out, could you honestly imagine that?😜. Me! ... I had to ask him why cos I was always in trouble for something. I thought he hated me with a passion. I honestly thought they both did and could not work out why I was still sliding through each time. He said cos when we got you, you shrug your shoulders tell us go ya hardest! But when we try it on you and you're not involved you never dob on anyone you tell us to get fucked that's your job to figure it out not mine to tell you and won't accept your punishment. Was his exact words to me. He said I was a cop we like people like that that's character. I went no way you gotta be kidding he say trust me yes. That was when it all made sense to me why they both let me stay each time. These pair were secretly having a good oL giggle in the back ground about my antics. Now I look back, It was a consistent recurring problem and they both knew it all too well. I was not allowing anyone to treat me like a kid without rights. I knew they had rules to follow. If they would not listen to reason and continue their shit. I had this escape button when I had enough. Tellem go get fucked and that always ended it I'd shrug my shoulders and say yeah yeah I know as I was already walking out the door heading to the office. Still the silly ones would try tell me don't you leave this room I have not said you can go. I'd just walk they would have to ring ahead for an immediate appointment. I'd say ring the office Tellem im comin in. Now I look back at it they were probably trying to stop me going to the office cos I only ever did it when I was in the right and they couldn't accept it. They probably getting their arses chewed each time for not doing their job professionally. It is the for running campus in the state. The only public school with the same grades to equal the rich private schools. All due to that one man and his standards, I almost thought of him as family only he was always the establishment to me. Till the day I left. I shook both their hands that day. One last visit before I left. Sure some students thought I worked in the office always saying hello to them if I passed them in the hall. Guess spend that much time with someone you may end up friends even. 😂😂

We would have gotten along splendidly haha!!

Yep! Behind the suit and tie. He was the real deal.

Well written and something I could relate to. I remember a few from back in the day. They are few and far between. I remember skipping school for a few days when I was about 14 or 15. Totally in love with some long haired hippie boy named Alan. Spent the time with him. Was hauled in to the Vice Principle. When he asked me why I skipped I just flat out told him. He was shocked. What no lie he said. He was stunned. Then he said, well I have to tell your parents. I said to him. Please dont, it wont be pretty. He believed me, and never told my parents. It never left the room. I never went to see him again. I did skip, however, I just covered it better and never got caught again. I still remember the smile on his face, when I told him the story about what I was doing. Like he remembered being young and well I was kind of cute.

Nooo! Not you mummabear 😇. I could totally see you being part of all that. Life is meant to be lived.

oh I lived it. believe you me. hee shhhh I shall never kiss and tell

Such a beautiful tribute to a good man. It was a pleasure to share this offering with you. I hope i can make a difference in someone's life like he did to yours & your sons. Blessings & Love to you Tony.

🌹💛🌹 RIP Sweet Soldier 🌹💛🌹

Thank you. Was a very hard piece for me to write. It is why it took me so long to do it. I thought I was ready and could get through it without crying. It started on a certain line and never stopped. I can laugh about it now. But I can't even read as soon as I get to that line. It all starts again. I am so glad I wrote it and got through to finish. I know there is a lot of bad grammar and missing punctuation. Not something im very good at anyway. I just could not fix it. I've decided to leave it that way because it ISO personal to me. Not going to edit it as even that will remind me when I. Readin in years to come.

Glad it's locked in the block! When i remember reading it i do not think about any errors at all. Just pure raw realness. That's it. So good you wrote it. So good. Much love & hugs 🌹💛🌹

Thank you! Such kind words. ❤️✌️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09