The Miracle Currency

in #opinion6 years ago (edited)
This post is actually about three things: money, biochemistry and miracles. But it is mainly about Belief as a currency for Miracles.

miracle.jpg
Source


Before I got into school I had no idea that, in the body, energy was used in a different way; in a different currency.

You know, like how you need to change your notes to Dollars if you were going to the US of A, or to the Cedis if going to Ghana, or to Yen when going to Japan, or to Real if you were going to Brazil. I could go on and on, but you get my drift; for you to do any transaction in a place, in a country, you need to work with the currency of the said country.

cf1b7356075e8893f9e2901e31fa4040--foreign-exchange-target.jpg
Source

For the body, energy is used or spent and exchanged in the form of Adenosine Tri-Phosphate (ATP). ATP is the currency of energy in the body. When we eat, the body stores the energy as glycogen or fat, when the body needs the energy to be used, these compounds are transformed into ATP to be used. If it is not ATP, the body doesn’t recognize it as an energy carrier.

image.axd.jpg
Source

ATP is broken down into Adenosine Di-Phosphate (ADP), giving off energy. ADP can further be broken down into Adenosine Mono-Phosphate (AMP) if necessary, giving off a little more energy. When the body is at rest, the three phosphate groups gotten from digested food join back to the Adenine group and Ribose sugar (which form the Adenosine).

2501_The_Structure_of_ATP_Molecules.jpg
Source


Now, back to talking about miracles, everyone knows that miracles are supernatural occurrences, that is, they are from the supernatural realm, or world.

Before I continue, let me say that if you don’t believe in there being a supernatural world maybe you should stop reading at this point, because the post may just annoy you at some point.

As I said, about miracles, since they are supernatural occurrences, they are from the supernatural world, they are not usually explainable or understandable, but they occur, I mean we see them everywhere around us, but we can’t say exactly how they come about. Despite what people may think, or how small they may think a miracle to be, or how they may try to explain them, miracles don’t just happen.

I believe that the supernatural world also has a currency for miracles, and I believe the currency is belief.

Belief-1.png
Source


The Dictionary defines belief in two ways:

  1. an acceptance that something exists or is true, especially one without proof.
  2. trust, faith, or confidence in (someone or something).

Anyone who practices a faith, any faith, must to an extent have an understanding of these definitions.

Wikipedia goes further and says “Belief is the state of mind in which a person thinks something to be the case with or without there being empirical evidence to prove that something is the case with factual certainty.”

Now what has all these definitions gotten to do with miracles, you may ask, well they show belief to be the exchange tool, the exchange currency for miracles.

Thinking about money, we realize that money is nothing more than an exchange tool. I give you my money and you give me the beautiful shoe or dress. You give me your money, I give you a beautifully written story or article, or I sing for you, or I do something you want in exchange for the money.

As money is just an exchange tool, without which many things can’t be gotten, so also is belief without with miracles can’t be gotten.

Now let me say state clearly that belief in something, or belief that something will or should happen, does not mean that it must happen. Just the same way there are things money can’t buy, there are some miracles belief can’t wrought.

Let me tell you a short but interestingly funny story to buttress my point.

storytime.PNG
Source

My father was a short, fair man. It was known and accepted by him. He only prayed that we his children be taller than him.

So one day, at a meeting of some sort, he met an old friend whom he had not seen in a while. In way of greeting, the friend said, “Onyebuchi, so you are still as short as ever!”

And my father’s reply was everything, “I can’t remember the last time I asked God to make me taller,” he said.

Though I know and believe that anything can happen, some things won’t happen, and I think my father knew that.

In fact one reason some things won’t and don't happen is because we may depending on supernatural power for what natural power, our natural power, can and should do.

Another reason is because it just won’t... I can’t explain this.

Back to my point about belief and miracles, for every miracle you see, someone somewhere believed. Someone somewhere had faith that it would happen.


Now I will talk about Jesus. The Bible book of Mark, chapter 9, tells a story of a man whose son was sick. The Bible said the son had a dumb spirit and with the way he was going, it was a matter of time before he died. The boy was brought to Jesus and the father begged Jesus to do something, anything, if he could heal the boy. Jesus said, “If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believes.”

mark.jpg
Source

I think the man understood what Jesus was saying. I think he understood that Jesus was telling him, “your belief is needed for things to happen.”

For he cried out, “I believe! Please help thou my unbelief.”


In summary, without belief great things don’t and won’t happen. Your actions will always follow your beliefs, so if you say you believe you will get all As in a semester, for instance, but read like someone who will get Fs all through, it shows that somewhere in your mind you don’t think you will get As, so why bother studying for it.

You get to fail.

My point in all this is this: Our dreams, our hopes our aspirations should scare us, so much that we’d know deep down that we need a miracle to achieve them. But no matter how much a miracle we need to attain those heights, they are possible if we believe.

Not all possible things happen, but all things are possible.

So to you struggling in one way or the other, I can’t tell you it will surely happen, but I can tell you it is possible.

Just believe and let your actions work in line with your belief; do your best, your very honest best, and let’s see how things turn out.

All things are possible to he who believes.

Exchange your belief for a miracle.

Belief makes the world go round.

believe-4t.jpg
Source


Djoi Writes

Sort:  

You are right dear.

This post of yours is really powerful. It also makes quite a lot of sense. A lot of us don’t believe and don’t have faith. But for all of us that do have it, anything is possible. That is if it is in God’s will and works best for the world to be a better place. God bless! I will be following you hoping to read more posts like these.

Thank you @victorholyo. I hope I get better inspirations.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Djoi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been upvoted and resteemed by Altruistic. It was presented on Altruistic curation show.
Nice write up.

altr-banner.png

Kindly upvote this post to support Altruistic. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70