The Swing of Spring Things

in #originalmusic5 years ago (edited)

Well, folks, back to the E flat/G flat matrix...

I've been sitting around playing with fourths every since one of the young people I mentor was showing me his advanced jazz licks some years ago, and I continue to find good use in them for both improv and in also three-and-four-part harmony situations ... but today was not one of those situations. Today, the warmth of E flat major, not even in any of its other modes, just pulled me back on in.

I may actually swap out this thing for "Phyrgian Stomp" for that little $7,500 contest coming up; it shows a wider range of what I am doing nowadays, and has a nice jazz feel as well. I think it rounds out the selections nicely, so I'm glad it came along when it did!

I do find as an artist that it is important to pay attention to when you have the feeling not to be hasty, even on a deadline. "Phyrgian Stomp" would have been just fine and I could have gotten my submission on out of the way quite early, but I had a feeling it was not the best I could do.

Not that I can "feel" things like this coming, per se, largely because I am quite prolific and almost always have something large being worked on, some things on the burner, and something just popping up. But, there was a sign in advance. Things like this come in small spurts over a week to ten days -- this freewrite here was last week's representative of a cut above. I rested most of the weekend, and here we are on Monday. I wonder if by Thursday or Friday something else a little above the regular is going to pop up...

As I try to teach my students and mentees: regular production means that you keep your chops up, keep your name out there, and have a better chance, when something remarkable comes through, that what is remarkable will be noticed and rewarded. PROBABLY, although I can't prove it, regular production of anything probably creates more possibility that remarkable things come out more often, because the flow is open and the skill level continues to increase regularly. That is my working theory, anyhow.

Oh well ... I wonder what tomorrow will bring ... more spring things ...

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 58. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Thank you, @pifc -- this is the first time I have been on the curated side, but I am trying to find an evening this week to do some curation for week 58!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

With each post you surprise me again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, @wakeupkitty -- I stay busy and I strive never to be boring!

Wow. You also perform well in the piano. That is one nice groovy jazz you have there. I enjoyed listening to it. You are such a talented lady.

As an appreciation, I curated your post and included it in this week's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. I hope you will be one of the judge's picks for the week.

Way to go @deeanndmathews. God bless you!

Thank you, @edencourage -- I've curated for the PIFC, but I've never been curated! What an honor! Thank you so much!

You are very welcome @deeanndmathews

Posted using Partiko Android

Found this lovely piece through the pifc contest entry by @edencourage well done !

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thank you, @helpiecake and @vibesforlife -- that cake is DELICIOUS!

Great performance as always! I see I have already visited in a different guise....

I have dropped by as you were featured by @edencourage @pifc!

Thank you for TWO visits!

100% regular production is the key. i usually get my best ideas in the shower though! Just putting it out there!! Love teh sound, keep on workinf those magic fingers!

I found you because @edencourage featured you in the pay it forward curation contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30