Ditches Can Be Beautiful Too

in #outdoors6 years ago

9fb4c5f6-e3d4-47d5-8930-03ef1f79a248.jpeg


You know it’s a hot and humid one outside when you walk out and your phone fogs up! Thought I’d take a picture as I was checking the mail and share it with you!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Wow a dirch with a crossing built in! I have heard of these, where they bridge most of the way across; so you can jump across, but I never saw one. It does make sense, thanks for the picture! :)

You’re welcome! Glad you enjoyed. And I’m not really sure how that little “bridge” got there lol.

From what I read, they are deliberately placed; to use as a pass over, because they are cheaper than a bridge. The one I read about had a culvert on the solid side for water flow. Also stock is less likely to cross than if it were a full bridge.

Interesting that something so simple, can be so complex. :)

Ohh, haha it took me a bit to figure out what you were referring to! Yes I’m standing on our driveway which has a culvert in it. At first I thought you were talking about that little green grass patch in the middle of the pic. (Lol not sure why I thought that..) We do have some ditches around here that have a concrete bridge, but those are less common.

Yes, the little green piece was put there deliberately, to allow you to cross, without having to walk around. It probably has a culvert against the left bank. They used to use them to cross over, by jumping, while blocking the livestock. There is a lot going on in that little piece of dirt! :D

howdy @hebrewhousewife! I love that title and you proved that yes, ditches can indeed be beautiful! great photo!

Thank you! The colors were a little more vibrant in person of course.can you imagine what it looked like when all the prairie was filled with those grasses?

Thank you! The colors
Were a little more vibrant
In person of course.

                 - hebrewhousewife


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

howdy there @hebrewhousewife! yes Ma'am that would have been a sight to see! just have to keep an eye for those Injuns too back then when it was pure prairie!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-08T01:49:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That happened to me on July 4th, there was lightning in the area and I went out to take some pictures of it but my camera kept fogging up instead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75