Embracing madness, dreams, and other tidbits about freewriting (My Over20Club Post)

in #over20club6 years ago (edited)

I must admit I've been waiting for this moment for quite a bit :D
From the get-go, I loved the idea of the Over 20 Club, it meant passion, it meant dedication, persererance, you know...all that. And I liked the idea of sticking with something.
It was only later that I discovered it also meant joining the ranks of some pretty wonderful people, not to mention amazing writers! Many of my new favorite authors have come from the freewriting community, who are people just like you and me, you know, and that seems incredible to me!
34811346_1689398641115930_3739306739598622720_n.jpg
Rick is not impressed...

I was first introduced to freewriting by my friend @marie-jay, whom I'm a huge fan of and who joined a bit before me. I never saw myself as a freewriting person.
Well, if you think about it, that's what I've always been doing, freewritng in the true meaning of the word. But not this. I thought the idea of just writing for 5 minutes on any given word or topic...childish. What could come out of just 5 minutes of writing?
Nothing, right? Certainly not a great story. But it did. I remember the first day I set that timer that I wrote with such speed, such passion, it was a real breath of fresh air to me. Because when you're writing a longer story, even if it's just a short story (a longer short story, if that makes any sense), you're in this process, you're clocking in the hours. Even now, when I finish this post I've got to return to a longer story I'm doing off-Steemit. And I love it. I love all the stories I've written. But freewriting feels so...well, free. No strings attached. Whatever comes out in these five minutes, well, that's it. And that's such a great feeling.

It's a very good lesson that even this teeny-tiny story is worthwhile and good and can be beautiful. I must say being part of the freewriters has given me so much strength as a writer. So you're stuck or you come up with a story you don't like, well, there'll be another one tomorrow. It has taught me to trust myself more and push myself further. And I love it.

Ha, I just wrote the title and I realized I've joined the over 20 club, despite not being over 20 myself :D

I was asked by the wonderful @freewritehouse to choose some of my favorite freewrites for this post. And the one I immediately went to was my very first freewrite.

Lies - a weekend freewrite

people-2991882_960_720.jpg

My grandfather lied to my grandmother. I guess it runs in the family. That's why I wasn't surprised when I heard the lie come out of my own mouth. I'd never lied to Charlene before, but I guess there's a first for everything. Besides, I don't know if I'm fully to blame...after all, Grandpa did the same thing.
continue reading

Owww, it was a weekend freewrite – my favorites! I actually forgot this freewrite completely, so it was as big as a surprise to me as it is to you.

Freewriting as Therapy

If you listen, probably any freewriter will tell you this. Freewriting, or rather writing in general, has this wonderful gift of healing. Because even if you try to control the stories that come out, you can only do it for so long, and at a certain point, details starts spilling out of your mind. You find yourself writing about the strangest things or giving your characters all sorts of weird attributes, something your great aunt used to do, something you saw on the street and never quite forgot...
That sort of thing.

And then, there's that first prompt that really makes a break in your defenses, the first one where you write something dark or upsetting or even just wondering...Because we all have these deep, rich inner lives that no one knows about and with freewriting, you get to do this beautiful thing where you can sort of give those lives away to other people, to imaginary people in your stories.
You get to explore your mind and your heart.
And you start asking questions. Okay, X is a recurring theme in my stories...why? What's driving me to come back to this subject?

And where all those issues seemed so...complex, who would've thought they can be resolved or at least tackled so easily?

Well, since I scrolled all the way back to the beginning of my freewriting journey, here's another oldie -

The Second Church

people-2604831_960_720.jpg

I want to go to your church, yet I don't know what church you go to. Hell, I don't even know if you go to church at all...Maybe you don't, but still, you must go somewhere. And I want that, I want that place, i want you. But you don't care, of course, why would you?
continue reading

See, as I was saying therapy. I don't think it's very hard to understand what this one's about, but I find that it's a wonderful outlet, when you're brimming with butterflies and love to be able to write, to create the poetry of your feelings.

The Pyre Pair

model-2405131_960_720.jpg

My only defense was to write down every word they said. It helped me keep note of what was going on at the time. 'm very bad at remembering, although I didn't use to be. But now, with everything that's happened...I suppose it's true what they say and life eventually takes its toll on you. I wrote every thing down, not just the words. I made scribbles of the actions of my captors, of their looks. I became very good at watching. I watched people and the little birds that came to my window.
continue reading

This is another one I just loved, and again, it was therapeutic in so many ways. I didn't even know I had this thing stuck in my mind, but then I unlocked it.

Little Beasts

tiger-1581639_960_720.jpg

I had this system for getting exactly what I wanted from people. You could call it a gimmick, I suppose, but that would be childish, I think. It's not a gimmick and it's not a trick, it was simply magic, as I always told everyone.
continue reading

Okay, I must admit I was picking a bit at random, since you can't really choose between your stories. It's like choosing a favorite child. Only, I suspect, harder.

So, anyway, I hope I got your interest. :D

I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to @mariannewest for hosting the amazing 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge, to the @freewritehouse for being such a wonderful place where we can find each other and to @marie-jay for introducing me to this beautiful community!

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

God these are beautiful @honeydue! An amazing collection of stories. There's a sincerity to the words of your characters that seems to take even the most surreal idea and make it utterly believable, like without even blinking. I love the stark realism of the first, the yearning, transcendent poetry of the second, the abrupt change in perspective in the portrait of twisted obsession in the third, and the last... well, I wrote a long comment about that one on the post itself. Such a vividly imagined superpower and emotionally charged backstory... seriously brilliant.

PS: I didn't realize I had read the very first of your freewrites, we must have started around the same time!

Thank you! I kinda knew what I was talking about with the first two, as they both came from some sort of experience. I'm just glad I managed to get it across so well!
We did? How cool! speaking of which, I have a bone to pick with you :P What happened to Old Scratch?

lol I know... what happened to all of it actually? I've been telling myself it's because I'm working so hard IRL and don't have enough time to write/play/sing. But truth be told things in my life have been so very weird I feel like I don't even know how to write anymore... too busy trying to catch up with myself to put any of it into words. I'm still feeling a little bewildered, but I think it's time to start writing again... Will tag you when it's out ;)

Hope you do <3 It'd be a shame not to..

Congratulations! I thought you were actually way over that at this point. You’re a great freewriter. And I totally feel you on everything you said about how liberating it is and the feeling of knowing that if you don’t like the one today there will be another tomorrow. 🙂

Thank you <3

Your free write is just always like a real story I always enjoy reading every time. I wish I could also be a freewriter but I'm not that fast is writing on laptops

Ow, thank you :) I'm sure you'd be a great freewriter! And anyway, it's not about how much you write, but what you write!
You should really try it! I bet you'll improve your writing speed ;)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations for making it to the “Over 20 Club”! That is so great. Keep on going; your writing is wonderful.👏🏾

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85