Why I Never Shut Up About Kayaking!

in #paddling6 years ago (edited)

Hi all. I hope this post finds you well.

You've heard me talking incessantly about kayaking but I'm not sure I've ever explained why I'm so addicted to this leisure sport. It's all @shadowspub's fault.

Our parents had five children and summer vacations were all about camping until around 1976 when they purchased a general store in the tiny village of Castleton. Running a family business was a full-time job, to say the least, and the end of our family camping trips.

I can remember camping at places like Algonquin Provincial Park, Bon Echo Provincial Park, Balsam Lake Provincial Park, Killbear Provincial Park and Sharbot Lake Provincial Park. It was at Sharbot Lake that I first experienced paddling.

Our campsite had a little path that led right down to the lake so our parents rented a canoe. I was pretty excited as I'd never been in a canoe. I think I was five or six years old. Early one morning @shadowspub and I stealthily exited the tent trailer, padded down the little trail and embarked on my first paddling adventure.

Every stroke of my paddle produced hundreds of sparkling diamonds in the early morning sun. It was peaceful almost silent as I noticed another world living beneath the surface of the crystal clear water. The plants danced as we glided over them and the fish quickly swam away, seeking safety from our paddles. Spotting a Common Loon we quietly tried to follow as it dove and resurfaced many meters from its original spot. It became a game trying to figure out where it would come back up.

It wasn't until many years later that I was able to enjoy canoeing again. We were living on a small lake outside of Haliburton called Amaleen. My hubby and I purchased an old 14-foot canoe, which was a little ridiculous considering the lake was really more like a large pond, but the kids and I enjoyed many adventures watching the birds, beavers and a really old Muskie that we called Moby Dick. How Moby Dick ended up in that tiny lake we'll never know but he used to enjoy rocking our dock when we were trying to fish. LOL!

Life changed again when my hubby died and we moved back down south to the comforting arms of my family. For several years life was too chaotic to even think about paddling. Then I met my current hubby, moved to London, opened a business and bought a trailer in Port Bruce on the northern shore of Lake Erie.

My actual addiction began when a friend loaned me his cheap little inflatable kayak. I remember that day so clearly, paddling along the shore of Lake Erie, then up the river, watching the birds and soaking up the peaceful reflections of the lush green vegetation on the water. Determined to have one of my own I purchased a cheap Coleman kayak and enjoyed may hours paddling until the fateful day that I popped a seam. I knew right then if I wanted gear that wouldn't leave me padding home full of water I'd need to educate myself.

That same summer my father became sick and passed away. I was lucky enough to be able to go stay with him until he passed at home, in his own bed. When my family came up to support me and attend the funeral I was given the most amazing gift. I was going to become a Nana! Now it wasn't quite that romantic, the kids were 17. I realized what was happening one morning when I saw @dezziq throwing up on the compost pile. It wasn't easy but it was exciting.

Over the winter I researched many types of kayaks and using some of my inheritance I purchased my current inflatable kayak and gear. I'm so glad that I studied and really thought about what type of kayak fit my needs. My "yak" has been going strong for 12 years of consistent use and each time I inflate her I thank my Dad for the joy he left me.

Kayaking is not just an activity it's an experience that's never the same twice.

Until next time friends...

Sort:  

Such a wonderful feel good post, any activity you can do as a family or group will make you feel good and get the most out of life. Wonderful post thank you for sharing it.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks @c0ff33a! It's very true!

How did you know? LOL!!!

cause she does it so often?

I have never had use of a kayak but for two summers I had a 12' aluminium canoe. I was the only one with my own canoe, once I convinced the leaders that I could be trusted not to kill myself.

The reason I had my own canoe was complex. Ish. I was feak and weeble, which meant I could not carry a 50 lb supply pack. I also could not be trusted not to fall down under one end of a 16' fibreglass canoe. I could carry the 12 footer.

The policy was 3 boys per 16' canoe, each carrying part of the load on portages. One front, one back, one pack. Nobody wanted to drag a canoe over a fallen Catweasel. Nor did anyone want to pick up a 50 lb pack with a Catweasel attached.

The 12' canoe was the answer.

I've never had the opportunity to canoe since, but I understand your passion.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Thanks for the picture! LOL!!! You were smart not fast?

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Sometimes you just need to read a post where the authenticity​y gushes out in every sentence. Your post was that for me!

I am glad that you have found a hobby/passion that has grown with you and been with you in good times and bad.

Blessings!

Thank you so much!

Kayaking gets one some exercise and out in the fresh air so its a good thing to be obsessed about

Posts with personal stories are the best! I enjoyed reading this, and how you fell in love with kayaking! The old snapshot of you kids is so cool! Which one is you, and which is @shadowspub? The precious little baby in your kayak is so cute, too! 😊

Thanks @thekittygirl! I'm the one on the right and our middle sister on the left. The two kids in the middle were part of the Harvey family from New York that we used to meet up with when we were camping. @shadowspub isn't in this pic unfortunately. The baby in the kayak is my grandson Apollo.

OMG, I made a WILD guess that you were the one on the right! I don't know what made me think that since I've never seen a photo of you, but that is what I thought! You were adorable, too! And you have an adorable personality now, so there! 💖

Your intuition is showing! LOL!! And you're making me blush.....don't stop....GRIN

what @artemisnorth is being so kind not to say @thekittygirl is that @shadowspub is never crazy on her pic appearing :)

Ah, yes! Your beauty would likely outshine the rest of us... 💖

COUGH, Cough, choke .. SURE we'll roll with that LOL

I would say this is a healthy addiction, encourage the whole family & keep on paddling, I'm jealous ;)

A great post @artemisnorth! Didn't get to read your writings until now, and glad I read. Thanks for sharing your life, I am touched!! Although I did tried kayak in pool for uni's sports course, I was so afraid that it would flip and I wouldn't resurface😂 anyway, love your post

So great to see you!!! Don't worry...they always come back up. GRIN. Mine probably very different from the ones you tried. It's inflatable so I bounce well. LOL!

@artemisnorth, I really enjoyed reading your story and your description of being on the lake is beautiful! I've been canoeing and kayaking just a few times and it is a beautiful feeling. I've gone with my family when we went camping although we haven't been in probably three years now. Too much going on financially and health but I do look forward to going again soon..hopefully! ❤

Thanks so much @deerjay! Actually, with my back issues, I was worried that kayaking would have to become a thing of my past but I've found that it helps strengthen my back.....PHEW!!! Sending healing Hugs!

You're very welcome and thank you as well!! I'm glad you are still able to kayak and it is actually even helping you. xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75