How it All Began - Part I of my painting career

in #painting6 years ago

Hi there fellow Steemians,

This is the first part of my painting hobby/career's birth, challenge, progress and enjoyment, that I would like to share with you. It all began roughly one year ago. I was in Lawton, Oklahoma, spending a wonderful weekend with my BFF, helping her landscape the backyard. After we finished the long hard labor, she's like, "look I have these two birdhouses that I found in the shed, why don't you paint something on them?" I'm like, yeah right, I don't know how to paint. I never painted, however, my all time dream was to learn how to paint canvas paintings. But that hobby was reserved for my retirement years. No Really! That's what I was planning on doing when I retired, to learn how to paint. So, make long story short, we went to the store, picked out a few pretty acrylic colors, brushes and when we got back home, I started cleaning up the old birdhouses.

Guess what? I had the best time of my life, painting those two birdhouses. I felt like a little kid all over again! Do you want to see?

Here they are
on the tree (2).jpg
.on the tree 1.jpg
winter.jpg
oszi oldal.jpg

I know, they are not Picasso, but I was happy with the outcome and my friend was blown away.
These two little birdhouses were the foundation of my new true passion. This passion blossomed into my part-time career. Can you believe that? Next thing I know, I was commissioned by her step mom to paint her cast iron bathtub. When she called me and asked if I could paint a landscape on her tub, I didn't know what to think or how to even imagine. Came to find out that the tub she used as a "flower pot" outside her yard. She had it filled with dirt and plants. What a clever idea. But let me tell you, I was a nervous rack from the time I accepted the challenge to the actual day of the job. After all it was a little bit bigger than a wooden birdhouse :) This was my first true art on a grand scale. LOL.

Please enjoy the step by step pictures as I progressed with the tub.

)
second stage-tub.jpg
third stage-tub.jpg
finished tub.jpg

Just a couple of months ago the tub was transferred to the front yard where I finished the sides that now were exposed.
Spring tub.jpg
20180603_120734.jpg

I sure hope you enjoyed the beginning of my journey and will come back to read as I will continue with my painting experiences and share more pictures as I discover and take on more challenges!

Please share your comments and upvote.
Also visit my shop on https://www.etsy.com/shop/ColorfulworldbyIldi and my website https://www.colorfulworldbyildi.com

Sort:  

That's very good I hope you continue to paint. Looks like you are a natural artist.

Thank you so much! I am still painting. I'm enjoying it very much even though sometimes it's hard to be creative.

Hello @behopeful, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

OMG! Thank you so much! I'm honored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14