Process pics for a Princess..

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

I have been working on a new Tarot deck with three other artists: Martina Hoffmann, Carrie Ann Baade and Michel Bassot.

We each have a suit from the Minor Arcana and then we divided the Major Arcana with the back.

I have the Watery Cups which symbolize our emotions and intuition.
Each of the court cards also symbolizes an element and it’s characteristics:
Kings are the intellect
Queens are the emotions and intuition
Princes act
Princesses manifest

Therefore, the Princess of Cups manifests the emotions.
When she is following Love she will share her drink with you.
When she is following fear and ego she will drown herself in drink.

The Prince of Cups acts on his emotions
He will gallantly get you a drink
Or he will use his glass as a weapon

I just finished the Prince and Princess but I haven’t had a professional photograph taken of them yet. Here are the almost finished Prince and Princess.. I had to tilt away from light to avoid glare and get the right blue...(not a photographer)

and here's my process for the Princess..

IMG_2900.JPG

I do my drawings on paper and then transfer it onto a canvas with carbon paper

I use a red sienna ground and then i lightly paint in the shadows. I also painted black around the figures.

IMG_1559.JPG

I then add the whites to give the piece volume

IMG_1866.jpg

A little yellow makes it glow..

IMG_1881.jpg

Adding the water in white...a little blue for the figures...

IMG_1995.jpg

Starting the blue glaze on the water, from below. The top picture in this blog, gives the color of the final blue glaze.

IMG_2883.JPG

and final blue glaze (i actually darked the smoke steam behind the Princ's head since this photo was taken.)

IMG_2898.JPG

Once I have done the King and Queen I will have all four photographed properly.
Hope the process was interesting :)

www.artwork-liba.com

Sort:  

Gorgeous. I love how you wove in the reversals.

thanks, that was indeed the fun part :)

Beautifully captured. Can't wait to see the rest

thanks! :)
I've done a Devil card as well but still have 15 paintings to go to finish my part...
http://www.artwork-liba.com/tarot-cards

What a treat to see your creative process. Stunning

thanks! :)

These are great! What a fantastic group of artists to collaborate with! By the way, I featured you in my latest post: https://steemit.com/art/@beinart/inspiring-artists-on-steemit

yay, thanks Jon....so glad to see this community grow in beauty and connection. cheers!

.... so I added a few pennies to the upvote, lol - I am no whale, haha, so my name would be on the bottom of that list....
great post! Now do you see the difference between this and Facebook?
I resteemed it also just now, and posting it on twitter:
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/994894058651836417
so I talked to you about this over and over - and now you see the results! You can share this on FB also - except their algorithm suppresses external links.
Oh, btw, in case you don't know it: I got my VAG Twitter embedded on the Visionary Art Website - so anything I share on Twitter, will automatically show up on the website. And the posts can be shared from there: https://www.vagallery.com/visionary-twitter.html

Thanks my dear . You are a whale to me!! I still have to get a hang on how this thing works with steem power, cashing out etc...but of all the platforms i just joined (vero, minds and steemit) this is indeed the best. I need to hold onto to fb though cause between my 4 pages i have almost 20.000 followers. It has its place but lets try to get steemit to overide that!!!

I replied to your FB msg re trading in Steem - found the blog that explains it.
But here it is again: https://steemit.com/steemit/@lurker1/step-by-step-how-to-cash-out-your-steemit-earnings-to-usd
Yes, keep FB, and share your Steemit stuff there. That way, people see that you actually earn money instead of hearts and kisses, so they might join us here also and make the platform grow.

Yes, Steemit is the best for community, just like the old days before FB ate everything up. Mind you, you may have 20,000 combined followers on FB, but you can only reach an infinitesimally small number of them because FB has rigged the game.

Lol hope you r right :) xx

I love these! The upside down Prince of Cups in particular - the look on his face is great! And scary! The water splash background around the Princess is also really cool. Thanks for sharing the process pics :) Much love - Carl

Thanks! I should have done some process pix with the Prince as well but .....

They are up at a show in Paris called ONEIRIC. Last day tomorrow! 35 Passage Jouffroy 75009 Paris. 13:00-19:00

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11