Masking Fear

in #painting6 years ago

fearrr-final.png

Masking Fear

New painting made with Wacom Cintiq and Photoshop and finished today. It's about fear and wearing masks to deal with it in social situations. At first I wanted to make a black/white version but had some ideas for colors.

Made the mask a bit awkward on purpose and colored the fear ice blueish because it resembles freezing of fear.

I was doodling and it just started to exist and used the lines to make this artwork :)

Here is the process:

fear1.png
fear2.png
fearrr3.jpg
fearrr-final.png

I have to say I really love this one :D Hope you like it too?

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Pretty cute monster. He looks delightfully amazed with something... Doesn't he?

Thank you very much! Well the mask does indeed :)

I absolutely love it, and sometime if we smile and pretend there is no fear we can even gather courage, though I think, "it" knows

Yes and I think no one is really without mask when they go outside their comfort. :) I often notice that for example very arrogant people are very insecure and just be that way to cover up. So many examples...

I love the personality in it!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Awesome artwork, @ sanderjansenart! ❤😊👍

Your monsters are always so cute! :)

I love it. Love. It.
scribbleman.jpg

It's said that there is a motivation technique where you force a smile, pretend that you're feeling good to fool your own mind.

Maybe that's why we make smiling avatars? So that when we look back at them, whatever state we're in, we're reminded of a better time?

Thank you! Well it doesn't sound weird to me and reminds me like that you stand for a mirror and say how good you are or something :)

Difficult to say I always think people post only the good/happy stuff online on social media to show how good their life is like some sort of status symbol and have to prove to others. If I don't post this it never happened or something.

Well my theory is that this is their expression of our common need to create. It's like:
Folks have spent their time "creating" a good mood, a good time for themselves -- something that has no natural expression in the physical world. So they want to leave a mark somewhere in the world, kind of part of the drive that leads others to vandalize trees and monuments with crude etchings, perhaps.

You hit the nail on the head, Sander

Thank you @patschwork or the nail on the mask ;)

Yep, that looks like masking fear, alright ! Always great to see you capture such primal topics in your pieces, Sander ... your style is very expressive ! Love it !!!

All those faces pressuring from the sides and then the one face being upheld up high... Aaah I've felt like this.........

Thank you for always bringing the best comments to my art and descriptions of what you see.

Life is a great source for art ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02