My awful painting!! - or 'how not to paint in five easy steps'

in #painting5 years ago

image.png


step one: cop a cruddy "i'm an abysmal failure" attitude.

~

despite the fact that my photo post yesterday somehow pulled a curie (which i felt totally unworthy of as i can think of twenty other things i curated lately which were insanely better), i decided to follow it with this disaster, because why not?

when i told julia that i made an awful painting, she suggested that i write this as a fail post. uhm.. sure, why not?

this rather than torture myself by trying to write yet another carefully sculpted and vibrantly cheerful, "what miraculous deeds I have accomplished in the two years since I joined this incredible steemit platform!!"

really, i'm just too punk for that. and i feel quite safe posting this late at night so as to save myself from the sheer embarrassment of people noticing it in daylight. plus, i want to see if anyone will comment.

ya i know that's contradictory. i'm certain no one reads my posts, and am often surprised when anyone comments.


step two: tell yourself and everyone else how awful it will be so as to save yourself from disappointment

~

i dont paint much, so it should come as no shock to you that I am terrible at it.

Once in a blue moon, I get a vision in my head of what I want to do when I paint, yet when i am done it tends to look like one of those failed "nailed it!" memes, the ones with the sunken pink cake mixed with the dregs of satan at a tea party. So tonight when I was depressed about the state of steem, ethics, and feeling like no one cares, I wrote this in helpie chat:

image.png

to which the wise carrieallen replied, "do what you want...write what makes you happy!"

Huh.


step three: don't think about what you will need or try to do your best

~

image.png
piece of cardboard dabbed with gesso, bunch of old acrylic paint, no water or cloths


step four: make a ton of mistakes, then paint over them until it looks like someone pooped

~

And so I went to paint, with ideas in my head about creating something colorful, clever, and artistic, and i remembered being in kindergarten and how i felt so much in touch with my inner artist when i was fingerpainting. Such a fun idea! - but then my fingers gave me this:

image.png
proof of finger paint


I did actually enjoy painting with my fingers. I have carpal tunnel, so any attempt to achieve lines where i want them or fine detail with a brush comes to nought.

image.png
beginning; no clue what im doing, but theres mountains and sunshine


step five: forget everything you've learned about drawing, colors, perspective and technique

~

It's at this point that i realize i've forgotten the rule of threes. my mountains overtook the sky and the color chart got forgotten when I realized the sky was green. I'll not torture you with the results.

Suffice to say, the sky had to be painted back in.


image.png
mountain detail. too much ice - and whats that green swirl on the right?


step six: take pleasure in your ineptness and lack of talent, because you sure aint van gogh...

~

Several unseemly things happened in this space which I did not record. Voila! The finished .. uhm.. painting.



the endless mountain

Sort:  

Thank you all for reading and commenting! its funny how I feel more successful on a post with four detailed comments than i did with yesterdays photo post, which garnered two four word comments and less votes than this before it somehow got curied. Maybe I just need to switch things up.

I hear you! Lack of comments is disheartening! Xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

i am a bit of a shit because i am the worst commenter at times. mostly when my hands are tired or my head hurts. im trying to do better..

Me too. We have to be the Steemian we wish to see in the world!! But its rough when you have commented on heaps of posts for days and no one bothers to return the love. You start thinking... am i that shit haha. But everyones got their own thing going on I spos.... x

Posted using Partiko Android

Always good to try something new. Failures are good for the artist. Heh. Thanks for sharing.

Posted using Partiko Android

You broke the unspoken command not to comment so I could feel negative. Now I shall need to admit that people read my posts. I am somewhat inspired to try again, this time remembering to take the time to plan..

Greetings @torico,

Splendid work......it is quite lovely.

Art is subject to the viewer's interpretation......and this one captures bleujay's attention and imagination.

All the best.

Cheers!

One person's nighttime is someone else's daylight! 😆
If the act of painting was therapeutic, then is it even a fail?

Posted using Partiko Android

terrific point! and the good thing about being awful is its really difficult to do worse...

i am not worse nothing , i can be used as a bad exemple ahahahah

perhaps we shall make bad art together ;)

Now THAT is an amazing idea !

It's not that terrible to be honest, there are people who call themselves professionals who make far worse stuff, lol. It's quite impressionistic!

*edit, I see that all the other commenters agree on the impressionism so there you go haha

ive decided that ill try again with my orginal plan, which was something much simpler. also, i will prepare a proper mixing pallette and cloths instead of using an old kitchen sponge. i'm saying this to make sure i do it....

Awesome, the result became something creative :d

incredibly, it did. I am amazed because i posted it as something to laugh at. but i believe the process was the creative part.

Congratulations @torico! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is a very therapeutic post. You need to try yourself as a psychologist :Р
And yes ... I would add red mushrooms with white dots to the picture.
Again I broke everything ... :В)

actually... you have reason. mushrooms would be spectacular in this picture! ot could be what it is missing, and be all about the tiny red mushroom with white dots that is off to the side, that no one ever saw.

my first major in college was psychology. the actual practise of psychology, the idiotic theories and statistical jargon and analysis that some professors wanted me to believe was valid, was totally preposterous. an honest discussion with friends is ten times more effective. if you find my back-handed approach to painting therapeutic, then i am more of a success than i understand :)

I was a psychologist in a past life. I can say that this approach is quite therapeutic :)

Hey you forgot people are awake in Antipodes honey. Its a better finger painting than I could ever do!! I like it... its sunny and YOU... its impressionistic and kinda provincial and happy.

I love the feel of paint on my fingers, it reminds me of childhood.

PS Suprise! A comment!! I know how that feels, lol xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

I did indeed forget the otherworlders. sometimes i think you all are more apt to listen to me ramble and appreciate my quirks..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45