Original Painting - Overlooking the Sea (stepped process)

in #painting6 years ago (edited)

A friend of mine received a text photo from of friend of theirs that was visiting Ireland. "I am your father’s brother’s nephew’s cousin’s former roommate." - Lord Helmet When I looked at the photo I immediately broke it down into shapes and tried to think of how I would attack it as a painting. My friends next text was "Could you paint this?". Well, my good Steemians, we will see how I do.

IMG_2079.JPG


original.jpeg

Here is the original photograph. I like the composition. Some nice lines of the cliff going off in a distance. Some dark masses of land in the water and the framing on both sides from the vantage point. I think this will be a great opportunity to practice staying completely loose. What does it mean to be loose in watercolor? To me, being loose means not committing to adding too much fine detail in the painting. Instead, you look at the subject in large shapes that have tones which help define them. If you do any detail, that detail is rather loose and not explicitly defined or overworked.

Sketch

Using the "shapes" theme I sketched out the large shapes I saw in the photograph. I tried to mimic the shapes of the cliff off in a distance and the land on top. I laid down the large shapes of the rock on both sides of the view point. I put the more central chunk of land that's like an island in and the few juts of land on the left. And that's it! No more detail for you!

IMG_2070.JPG

Background

Starting at the top I dilute some Ultramarine Blue and dab in the sky leaving spaces for clouds...yes, some happy little clouds. I'm not too concerned with the form and I make sure I don't go back over what I already painted which could create too much emphasis on the sky.

After I'm done with the sky I make a mixture of Ultramarine Blue, Burnt Sienna and Payne's Gray. It looks muddy and for now I just need a highly diluted muddy color for the cliff areas. I paint this light muddy color in and double up in particular areas to give a hint of faint shadows, nooks and crannies. After this dries a tiny bit I hit the tops of the cliffs with a diluted Sap Green. I'm not worried about details here, just some green shapes that live on top of the cliffs. Feeling a little froggy I then run some of the Sap Green down the cliff face to suggest some vegetation has creeped its way down there. Again, I'm not getting too zany with details.

IMG_2073.JPG

Middleground

For the middleground shapes I use a less diluted version of my muddy mix and flesh in the stone and dirt areas on the land in the water and on the left side. Before this dries I pull a little of it off with a damp brush so it's not too overpowering for the middleground. Also before it dries I touch some areas I left white with some Sap Green to add vegetation on top. Before this part is finished but after everything dries I take some diluted Ultramarine Blue and slice out some of the water area.

IMG_2074.JPG

To finish off the left side I go in again with my trusty muddy mix and Sap Green and paint it out.

IMG_2076.JPG

For the right side I mix some yellow and red and....hahaha! I lied! I went back to my trusty muddy mix and Sap Green! When it was partially dry I added in some darker versions of the mud to create the shaded areas on the rocks.

IMG_2077.JPG

Finishing Touches

To finish this bad boy off I added a mixture of Lemon Yellow and Burnt Sienna in varying amounts until I got a yellowish sand color so I can paint that little beach area. Oops! I missed the little chunk of rock in front of the beach so I lapped up some of my remaining mud and built that rock out. The only thing left for me to do was go back into the water with some diluted Ultramarine Blue and add some shadows of the cliffs and rocks. Oh! I even added a few little purple flowers on the right cliffs just for fun.

IMG_2079.JPG

And that's really it. I kept it loose and didn't actually do anything in this painting that I regretted. I know Mr. Bob Ross said, "There's no mistakes, only happy accidents.", but sometimes my mistakes make for unhappy accidents. I like that there were no mistakes in this one though.

Anyway, thanks for following along and leave a note in the comments so I know you checked this out. Also, checkout my other paintings to be enlightened and awed by my mediocre painting skills!

Supplies

Watercolors: Sennelier tubes - Sap Green, Ultramarine Blue, Burnt Sienna, Lemon Yellow, Alizarin Crimson, Payne's Gray
Brushes: Silver Brush Black Velvet Voyager #6
Paper: Strathmore Wire Bound Visual Journal - Cold Press, 300 g/m, 5.5"x8"

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

The beautiful subject you chose for watercolor painting. And your painting color is too close to the reference. Carry on.

Serenity achieved.

This scene turned out well, especially for one with "mediocre" painting skills. How many of these journals do you have filled in? These will make a fine personal library.

And that's it! No more detail for you!

Yes. Advice I should take to heart in my work!

OH. I almost forgot to mention I nominated you...

Thanks! I have about 3 or 4 journals completed now. I started with just sketching journals then started into watercolor and haven't done much in the way of sketching in quite a while.

I live my life in that way...I try to only take on details when absolutely necessary. I try to live life in the "bigger shapes" where the details are open ended and not suffocating. The verdict is out whether this is a good life philosophy.

Thank you for the nomination. While I don't know much about the Comedy Open Mic group I'm checking them out on discord right now. You are very kind in nominating me.

PS: Would love to see more of your disc golf adventures.

Your bigger shapes theory works very well on the sketchbook page, perhaps in the long run it will work well as a life philosophy too. We're all painting the masterpiece that is life, one happy accident at a time.

I have every confidence you will make a hilarious comedy open mic entry (if you choose to participate)! You are gifted with the large humor.

More disc golf? You got it. Please stay tuned! ☺


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

lovely post! im learning watercolours myself, so this is a pretty motivating post for me ! :D

Thank you! If I were to give unsolicited advice for watercoloring I would say, "Just go for it and don't hold back." In that I mean, don't be afraid to slap some water and color on the paper. There's a guy on Steemit who you probably already know but I'm in absolute awe: @shibasaki - check out his work on Steemit and his YouTube channel.

It turned out great.

I like it, you are talented.. keep up the good work...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70