Are you an entrepreneur with an addiction?

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

"The main thing to keep things under control is to have a greater reason for wanting to do something good. These days I find it very difficult to just sit on my butt, because I want something else – a profitable business. That tends to keep potentially harmful behaviours in moderation, and allows me to extract the good from them."

This is a quote I pulled from the comments section here and it was made by
-Patick Vuleta, April 26, 2011.

image.png

While I was just flipping through articles about entrepreneurs, I found one in particular that had some interesting information in it. I wanted to come and share about it right away, because what I found is something that can potentially help many of the people directly involved with the Intrepreneur community.

Essentially, the point of the article was that "entrepreneurs have a disposition to addictive and compulsive behavior."

Arguably, the guy has many valid points. Some of his points are possible to have even been brought up by someone in your life, at one time or another.

The point that I'm focused on, ironically, is deflection.

What many people like to do is completely deflect situations that make them uncomfortable in any way, and find something to do that makes them happy, like smoking, or watching television. Which Peter Shallard refers to as "changing their state"

Who is Peter Shallard? I have no idea, just some random writer I found while googling. But, I think he's right about many of the things he wrote about in this article and I also think you'd be silly to ignore the messages.

Anyway, as I was saying before, people loooove to deflect unwanted negativity. Why not? I mean, who wants to deal with something, when you can just ignore it? Right?

Wrong.
You're just setting yourself up for more pain later. Whatever it is that you're trying to ignore because you just don't like it, it won't likely go away until it is dealt with, the way you probably already know that it should be.

As I sit here being a complete hypocrite, drinking coffee, and smoking a cigarette. I like to tell myself things that prevent me from really being as productive as I could be if I just had a little more mental fortitude.

Throughout the day, people will change their way of thinking and feeling so many times, many of them even go to the doctor because they think they're "bi-polar" or some other ridiculous nonsense. Most of the time, that's not the case at all, and you've no need to see any sort of doctor.

The best days are the ones you remember, on your worst days.

Some days you just feel amazing! You're inspired, nobody can stop you, you're able to be creative and get your work done well. Regardless of the situation at hand, which might not be as pleasant as you would hope. Or anywhere near it, for that matter. You might even feel "super-human" on those days.

While other times you might not feel as inspired, and that's usually about right when you start to lose your self-control. The reason for that is because once you don't feel like you are capable of the things you were capable of yesterday, or even a few minutes or hours ago, you might start to look for a way to make yourself feel better. Whether you realize it, or not.

This is what deflecting is. Deflection is deviation from your initial goals, and there is nothing more disruptive to the necessary harmony to run a successful business.

Once you start looking for ways to deflect instead of overcome, you are already setting yourself up for bigger problems. The best way to overcome your fears is to face them. Believe me, I could use a cup of my own advice here!

I smoke, I eat various junk foods, I don't exercise enough, the list goes on. So I'm not here to tell you what to do, or judge you. Just spreading information. And I wanted to also mention,

I will do better. Because I am willing to do better.

I will do better, because I love my life and I want to be alive as long as I can, and so I can enjoy being with my loved ones, as often as possible.

We can all do better, in one way or another. Be the best version of yourself for others to see. Accept challenges, overcome them.

Every failure is just one step closer to your next big win!

Thanks for taking the time to read my posts, I am humbled by the overwhelming positive nature of the Intrepreneur community thus far. I can only imagine how much greater it will be in the years to come.

Looking forward to sharing those years with all of you, getting to know each other, and watching the world become a better place as a result.

Sincerely-

You.
(I am you, you are me.) That's what being a Crystal Human is about. "As human crystalline systems, we resonate in total unity, harmony, and love with the pulse of the cosmos."

image.png

Resteem this post to help fulfill the Intrepreneur vision, which is to see those who work for themselves be more successful, and have the community support they need to thrive.

Buy INT to support entrepreneurs everywhere.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You received a 10.00% complementary upvote from @swiftcash 🤑
To stop similar upvotes from @swiftcash, reply STOP.

I agree wholly with the message of your post. It's similar to the blame game, just an unconscious habit. We blame outside sources for our problems, rather it's true or not, isn't the point, we should be taking the responsibility on ourselves, and seek to correct, rather than deflect that responsibility on someone else. Turning a bad day, or situation, into a good day, or situation, is something we can do. Changing the habit takes an active, conscious decision.

I remember a video, where a guy talked about how impulse control isn't done by motivation, or discipline, but, by cutting out major stimuli associated with that habit. If you spend time in the living room, and you find yourself watching a lot of tv in there, move the tv out of the room, and place magazines in there related to the habits you want to stimulate into your life. If you find yourself eating a lot of junk food, put them out of sight, and place healthier alternatives where they will be seen more often. Among many other changes in your environment.

Turning a bad day, or situation, into a good day, or situation, is something we can do.

Amen to that!

I love the concept of the Intrepreneur I think it's only going to continue to become more popular with he likes of developers, designers content creators, influencers and remote workers leading the way now, crypto traders have now started to add to it and im sure more jobs will be created on the internet. I feel like tehre are plenty of nomadic business owners who would love to share their stories.

I have another business blog which I post on and I enjoy creating content for and I'd like to start my own tribe which could complement this one, I would like to focus on local entrepreneurs I know its ambitious because of the terrible onboarding on this site but I'd like to give it a try and if it helps bring more people to steem that would be cool too

Thanks for your support! Glad to have you with us :)

@crystalhuman purchased a 31.30% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Hi, @crystalhuman!

You just got a 8.62% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You got a 9.36% upvote from @upvoteturtle. Thank you very much for using this upvote service. 😍
We would be very happy about a delegation to grow and increase the maximum upvote!😉
10SP 20SP 50SP 100SP 200SP
This voting Bot pays 100% out to all Delegators and gives an upvote Revenue of 120%

i used to smoke a lot, but before i smoked more a lot more, now im more enjoying things with better eye and just being, focusing on the best things i can focus on, being the best version of me, and that's something that actually somedays stealed my dream on existencial crisis seeing ways to fix and solve the equations that live got's me into.

i love it.

so, yes, since child i was already with this problem but i took the best of it because "adiction" it's only one of the many points of view of a worried people, and being worried it's the first step to put on action and be on work, on life.

sending good vibes to all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83