Evi-Edna Ogholi, The Nigeria's Queen Of Reggae

in #palnet5 years ago

Evi Edna Ogholi was a phenomenon Reggae musician on the Africa Scene in the 80's. No street you go to that you will not hear one of her song being played on loud speaker even till today her birthday song is still commanding some attention at birthday party.

One of the musician who contributed massively in promoting the reggae brand of music in Nigeria following in the steps of the legend BOB MARLEY who is a household name and much talk about musician because of what he stood for.

Growing up in 80's a birthday party without one of her song play is not a party or properly celebrated birthday party, Children and Adult all look out for her specially dedicated birthday song. Her music are masterly done and always has a message to pass to the listener, even the young ones are not left out.

Reproduce below is the lyric and video to one of her song .

Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
Silver and gold have I not
So I give you my token gifts
They call this one thing, the card is cheap
But I know you will appreciate
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
You look so good
You look so bright
Everyone is talking about you
Birthdays come once in a year
And I know you want to celebrate
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
Tinkle tinkle goes the clock
And good morning everyday
Chatting, laughing happily
What do we do, we have to survive
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
The world is big
The world is deep
Today is just like another day
Too many people, all around
And for you today, your special day
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
Tinkle tinkle goes the clock
And good morning everyday
Chatting, laughing happily
What do we do, we have to survive
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Instrumental break. . .
You look so good
You look so bright
Everyone is talking about you
Birthdays come once in a year
And I know you want to celebrate
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns
Uh yea, I wish you happy birthday
Uh yea, very very many happy returns

Source: Musixmatch

All video from YouTube


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded
Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34