‘Yesterday’ (2019) Film Review

in #palnet5 years ago

1E17DA535EFA43D1B6B9D16C389C0FD9.jpeg
I heard about this film a few months ago when it was initially released. I’m not particularly fond of most comedy movies & even less so of the romance genre but after hearing the premise & the fact it was directed by Danny Boyle I have to admit I was intrigued. I typically enjoy Boyle directed films & downright love a few of them (‘Trainspotting’, ‘The Beach’). I put a mental pin in this film as an at-home date with the wife. It ended up being a really entertaining & heartwarming little British film.
A3177D38A2D74D03A2E39559DFF5590F.jpeg
Jack Malik (Himesh Patel) is a struggling singer/songwriter whose dreams of fame are fading fast. The only person who really believes in him is his childhood friend/cheerleader/driver Ellie (Lily James). After a freak bus accident Jack wakes in the hospital to a world in which ‘The Beatles’ never existed (also Coca~Cola, ‘Oasis’, & Cigarettes). Malik becomes an overnight sensation using the songs of one of the biggest bands of all time, with a few surprises along the way.
9B65A2E6E1594C5997AAD7938A99F8FE.png
Because it fell into the romance & comedy genres, I started the film with little to no expectations. After the first 20 mins & hearing Himesh Patel’s angelic voice singing ‘Beatles’ favorites I was completely hooked. What surprised me most was the fact that I could immediately see where this plot-line was going but I didn’t care at all. In my opinion the fact that I was so thoroughly entertained by a sappy, predictable, romance film speaks enormous volumes for the quality of Boyle’s latest work. I highly suggest curling up with a loved one and watching ASAP.

P.S. You may also want to check out the soundtrack by Himesh Patel, his voice is amazing

6410C78D273A4240B35BAB23F423380C.jpeg

Sort:  

Seems interesting. Might have to go watch it (with me one good eye).

Have some Ass token from y'er friendly neighborhood ambASSador.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87