Let me introduce myself to the Palnet community

in #palnet5 years ago

Dear all,
This is my first post on PALNET. I'm excited and grateful to @elsiekjay, a great STEEM huntress, for identifying and pointing me to this place.

So first, let me introduce myself. My name is Edgar. I'm a research scientist working on the molecular interactions between plants, and pathogens. I'm originally from the Netherlands, but I now live in Scotland. As I share this picture with you, you may understand some of the attractions of living in Scotland.

IMG_0853.JPG

I've been on the STEEM platform for nearly two years I think, but not always active. Over the last couple of years, I've come to realize how vital a role decentralization can have on everyday life. It brings new applications and opportunities to nearly everybody, not only a select few. Blockchain technology and the applications built on them can help us teach valuable lessons about ourselves, others and the reasons or purpose with which we exist on this very planet...and some apps are just such fun to play with!

My work as a research scientist directly aims to address a big issue, which is food security. The availability of food, to a growing population, is diminishing and that along with environmental concerns, demand more sustainable and environmentally friendly ways, to grow our crops and to protect our environment.

So this is my first shot at trying to use PALNET.IO. So far, I've been quite impressed. I like the front end, which is user-friendly and similar to STEEMIT and publishing is seamless. I haven't read the white paper yet but I'm quite keen to learn what PALNET.IO will offer that is different from STEEMIT or any of the other applications that run on the STEEM blockchain.

I'm also quite curious what, what the content will be. My interests are in science. Therefore, I'm quite interested to see whether the sciences will be featured prominently here along with engagement with the community. I am equally curious to see what the science or the STEM community will look like in a couple of months. I am sure my colleagues at STEEMSTEM will be present, but lets see what the future brings.

So I think these are exciting times for STEEM, PALNET, and all the other applications that are running on the STEEM platform. I hope to post more content on Palnet in the future and see how this project develops.

Have a great day everybody and take care!

Edgar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82