Retail Therapy

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

I'm having an interesting conversation with someone who is doing quite well for himself. As you might imagine, there are subject I can't really relate to, since I don't really belong to that particular elite class. I don't say this as a bad thing, it's just a reality, and not having a private plane has never kept me up at night, but I digress.



At any rate, the conversation became about life, about philosophical ideas we hold onto. More often than not, I tend to direct the conversations in that direction, not only because its a broad commonality, a subject that everyone is trying to figure out, but also because it helps me understand my own reality a little better.

As the conversation went on I heard a concept that made me stop for a second and seek clarification. "Retail Therapy". What is that? I asked. And the answer was not really comical, but it did make me chuckle a bit. "I just go buy a lot of shit I don't need... cheer myself up...".

It was at that moment that I tuned out for a minute and began to wonder in my own hypotheticals. Yes, money does not equate purpose, and even those who can afford private flight lessons are fighting with the same monsters. Of course, the conversation didn't end there, and other topics were discussed, but learning this somewhat known concept, that belongs to that circle of people, gave me a reinforced perspective of my own convictions.

I sincerely hope I'm never there, regardless of how much I get to have or not...

MenO

Sort:  

You may not believe it but this is very true and sometimes has very serious consequences. I had a friend who was treating herself with this retail therapy, spending money on things she didn't even need, just for a few moments of happiness.

And I've seen another case which was even worse, a severely obese woman had the habit of buying bags and purses just for a few minutes of happiness. She had over 250 in three closets, all in their original package. Her credit cards were all maxed out and full of debts.

This is dangerous.

Hahaha lol buying a lot more thing even you don't require what kind of thing is this man. But truley speaking something buy when you don't need i think it can be wast of hard earned money.

Posted using Partiko Android

Money is only a tool to achieve your goals. Some people use it for self-harm instead. Money knows no good or evil it only knows how to be spent

Maybe this person doesn’t need STEEM but can buy it anyway? :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I have to admit this has been me in the past... Realizing it is tough but at least ot helps to have perspective! I still get bouts of it but now I have crypto and Steem Monsters to buy instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87