Time and seasonssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago

I spoke in my previous video about life cycling. This is from my experience and I have seen this happen repeatedly in my life to think otherwise. I may have not covered somethings in my previous video and I will like to do that with this article.

I don't know about you, but I have a strong conviction that this world is controlled by forces we cannot see. I don't know what you define these forces to be. It might be science to you, or an unseen God or the laws of nature, but there are certain forces that define and control the affairs of men and women. The idea that we are masters of our own destiny is flawed in some way because there are many factors that come into play that can change or enhance your chance of ever achieving your goal. Either be it your limitations as a person or the environment you find yourself, all these unknown or unseen elements go a long way in determining our future.

Personally, I feel life is trying to teach me a lesson or prepare me for something. My life now feels like a Deja Vu because I have been here before and probably making some of the same mistakes I made a couple of years ago. I have tried to stop myself a couple of times to introspect. In the process, I try to make the least most painful mistake because I honestly do not see the entire picture--none of us does. So my decisions might be flawed but notwithstanding in choosing an option that won't have a drastic effect on my life and the people I am responsible for, I try to be discreet.

All my life I have seen people make mistakes and most of those same mistakes are repeated by people who witness the same mistakes happen; people who swore they won't repeat the same mistakes they saw their father, mother, brother, or sister make but still fall into the same trap. It like genetics, mistakes are sometimes hereditary.

I was looking at my mum yesterday and realized how much we becoming more alike. Some of the things that have changed in my structure are modeling hers and it got me wondering how much to we take from other people.

I spoke of my late father having a large heart. At every point in our lives, we were accommodating strangers. And in turn, people accommodated us when we needed it. I remember in 2013 when we got kicked out of our house. It was one of the most embarrassing things that have happened to us. After living in a place for over 13 years we were thrown out like we were nobodies. Even the people close to us did not even lend a helping hand. It was a total stranger that gave us shelter for about 2-3 months until we found a place of our own. A similar issue happened to my late father when if left for Venezuela. At some point, he ran out of money and was sleeping in an open space until a total stranger accommodated him until he was able to find his feet and buy his own apartment. Cycles.

Currently, I am accommodating two families in the building my father left us. That trend continues and might continue even with my own children.

Mistakes, like I have tried to point out, happens in cycles. I have seen my father, uncle, cousins fall victim of the same mistakes. I have taken a closer look at their lives and taken note of their mistakes--which have been my mistake as well at some point. It's funny thinking about it now but it is obvious certain things are inevitable. Most times we see a problem but not its source. You might be failing in class but your problem might not be that you're not reading. You might be reading but not comprehending. You might have a memory problem or your reading technique is wrong and not effective for you. Rather than get frustrated and give up, it will be in your best interest to search deep and seek help. Sometimes we are blinded to our own flaws and are only able to see that of other people.

Another typical example will be that of a sick person. He or she knows something is not right with their body but they don't know what it is or how to solve it. I want to liken this to steem. Most of us believe that something is supposedly wrong with steem but our diagnosis might be wrong. And sometimes I question if there is anything wrong with steem. Maybe the project is living up to its potential and our expectations are just too high or feasible.

However, I still marvel at the fact that people who have been here for years are still perturbed about the price of steem when it goes up and down. By now I'm expecting people to be accustomed to the fluctuation and cycling of the market price. Well in their defense I will say that if people weren't reacting to price then there might as well be no market, so it is understandable.

In a nutshell, all I'm trying to say in this article is that people should be mindful of the patterns in their life. Like the market, our lives tend to move in certain directions at certain periods. There other occasions when life surprises us but for the most part is predictable.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  
I spoke of my late father having a large heart. At every point in our lives, we were accommodating strangers. And in turn, people accommodated us when we needed it. I remember in 2013 when we got kicked out of our house. It was one of the most embarrassing things that have happened to us. After living in a place for over 13 years we were thrown out like we were nobodies. Even the people close to us did not even lend a helping hand. It was a total stranger that gave us shelter for about 2-3 months until we found a place of our own. A similar issue happened to my late father when if left for Venezuela. At some point, he ran out of money and was sleeping in an open space until a total stranger accommodated him until he was able to find his feet and buy his own apartment. Cycles.

Currently, I am accommodating two families in the building my father left us. That trend continues and might continue even with my own children.

That's remarkable. You will be remembered.

Another typical example will be that of a sick person. He or she knows something is not right with their body but they don't know what it is or how to solve it. I want to liken this to steem. Most of us believe that something is supposedly wrong with steem but our diagnosis might be wrong. And sometimes I question if there is anything wrong with steem. Maybe the project is living up to its potential and our expectations are just too high or feasible.

I should've known that the early 2018 valuation of Steem was far, far too high for the project at that stage. As a result, selling off would've been the only rational course of action.

However, I still marvel at the fact that people who have been here for years are still perturbed about the price of steem when it goes up and down. By now I'm expecting people to be accustomed to the fluctuation and cycling of the market price. Well in their defense I will say that if people weren't reacting to price then there might as well be no market, so it is understandable.

In a nutshell, all I'm trying to say in this article is that people should be mindful of the patterns in their life. Like the market, our lives tend to move in certain directions at certain periods. There other occasions when life surprises us but for the most part is predictable.

Word.

Thanks for the feedback

Posted using Partiko Android

I fond myself thinking about this all the time as well and I taken the approach of preparing for the next cycle for some time. However, I also think that we are seldom ever totally prepared for the challenges that come as we think about the things that probably matter the least like materialistic items instead of the more emotional things like people and health. Even worst, we think that they are directly linked and we are disappointed when it comes down. Resilience and grit are the aspects I most seek as I know I am weak in nature to succumb to negativity when surrounded by it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 11962 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

You got a 20.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nonsowrites! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94