WHAT CRITICS HAVE TO OFFER THE STEEM BLOCKCHAIN?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #palnet5 years ago (edited)

Nothing.

I know that sounds harsh but hey I'm an honest guy and here to serve you guys the brutal truth. The major difference between a shit poster and a naysayer (or critic as they like to be called) is that the latter takes their time to be unproductive.

Well, not all critics are actually totally useless. A few of them are less useless. I fall under this category of not-so-useless persons because I sometimes perform the not-so-useless act of constructive criticism where I try to analyze things and proffer solutions. But it is mostly useless because most of ideas are in theory and lack the required practicality to garner people's trust or support. It might have worked somewhere else doesn't mean it will work here as well because there are so many things in play that make a thing/idea work that we might not take note of. Moreover, it's more than just having great ideas. People have to trust you before your ideas most times. So if you're not attempting to build a good reputation for yourself, then my guess is no one is going to buy your idea of pay attention to it, irrespective of how great it is.

I really do consider it a very brave thing to claim to have the answer or solution to a problem you do not fully understand, and that's what most critics do. But that's going too far, most do not even have answers. Theirs is the highlight the grey areas and provoke you. This for them is a sign that they are telling the truth but they are usually far from it.

Many of us are new to the content/data industry; many of us know little and have achieved the same here to be an authority in this field. Ask the next person who tries to convince you that steem is shit what they've achieved in this industry or whose responsibility it is to move steem forward. If someone is trying to convince you of something then they should have a better alternative for you.

Let me ask: have you seen any of the people who criticize steem do anything useful with this platform asides ranting and posting things nobody really cares about (the same thing they accuse everyone else of doing)? No.

Have you seen these set of persons bring any tangible value to the blockchain? No.

Do they even take time to network with others or try to build anything substantial here? No.

That's because these set of persons have nothing to offer other than their opinion. They do good a fine job at pointing fingers at those who try to do anything. Their major selling point is their brutal opinions which are often erroneous. They've done a good at getting your attention by trigging your emotions. They are low-budget entertainers--they are here for your entertainment. Have you ever stopped to ask yourself why these set of persons never leave steem? I have been here for over a year now and they literally are still saying the same thing; still powering up an earning steem and using all the dapps created by the people they deem worthless. If steem was such a waste of time trust me they won't be here; if steem was such a shitty place then it says a lot about them as well because there are many projects that have attracted the best minds and investors, why aren't they there building? Simple: they're not up to the task, neither do their voice have any relevance there. So they see steem as an opportunity to achieve what they cannot achieve elsewhere and that's is having a voice people might consider caring about.

I really do want to see these self-proclaimed Mr/Mrs. I-know-it-all do something tangible for the blockchain. Maybe create a dapp or drive traffic here with their quality post(s). The honest truth is that these people have nothing to offer the steem blockchain. Your gardening posts or journals are worth more than their opinion. I'm such you didn't come here to be a world-class content creator. Your posts are average or below average. But I have good news for you: basically, 90% of the world populations are average. People who never get to do anything exceptional in their lives; people who live in their basement. And for long this category of person have been told they're worth nothing; that their voice is worth nothing but steem is changing that narrative. I watch cringeworthy videos every day, and honestly, I have thought these people do not deserve what they get--even myself most times, but why? Why isn't it enough to reward average people for their efforts? The world is in its current state because resources are not been allocated properly. The gap between the rich and poor continues to broaden.

Hey, you might be an awful blogger like I am but I know effort when I see it. And when you remain you authenticate self and treat people with the respect good things will come your way; you will be able to solve most of the problems you want to fix with the right attitude. However, if you remain bitter and think you can trigger your way into people's mind and heart of people, well, you can. But I'm certainly not jumping on that train with you. It's a bitter road (if there is anything like that). I have been there a few times. At some point in my steem journey, I was upset about everything and I thought the best way countering all the phony people here was by being a brute but it doesn't have to be that way. I personally think how one approaches a situation determines the result they get. We currently live in a world where people think they can shout and rant their way to the top. The truth is no one wants to work with this category of persons even with their superb ideas and they have little to offer anyone

Steem is owned by no one. you define your experience. If you're not happy with something on here I think it is no one's responsibility but yours to change it. Create your own community or token. Do what you think should be done. It's really nobody's responsibility to define your steem experience, not even steemit.

If you still believe in this project called find ways to better it. This might involve little steps like taking time to edit your content or sharing it on other social platforms; it might be supporting other smaller projects in your own little way. The little things matter. But if you consider your self a critic, then maybe you should spend time making sure these problems that are are so glaring for all to see are resolved and it goes beyond talking but talking to the people who can effect the changes you want to see. That I consider productive. Ranting for attention is what losers do and I believe a significant number of us here don't have time for that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 17.87% upvote from us for your 1959 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Great rant buddy you just wrote a long winded criticism of those that don't see things the way you do. That's a bit hypocritical and the tone is very judgemental. If you feel this way why must you express this opinion of yours as factual? Just let people use this platform as they see fit without being an asshole about it..

If I say I find it asinine there's not a mobile design first initiative here my critique is worthless and I'm charged by you to build it or make it happen? That's one instance only..

Great rant buddy you just wrote a long-winded criticism of those that don't see things the way you do. That's a bit hypocritical and the tone is very judgemental.

This paragraph from the article is my response:

Well, not all critics are actually totally useless. A few of them are less useless. I fall under this category of not-so-useless persons because I sometimes perform the not-so-useless act of constructive criticism where I try to analyze things and proffer solutions. But it is mostly useless because most of which are in theory and lack the required particularity to garner people's trust or support.

And I don't mind being judgemental of hypocritical. I believe who aren't solution-orientated are useless. If you're telling me I'm bad without telling how I can be better than that piece of information is of no use to me.

Just let people use this platform as they see fit without being an asshole about it.

I don't care about such people. I don't engage with them. This is just a post for those considering a similar route.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have engaged with me 😂 I respect your right to be a dickhead 🖖

Posted using Partiko Android

I respect your rights to be a dickhead as well and I'm not going to stop you from being one (as it doesn't necessarily affect me). I'm just going to tell you, like you have me. All fair and square, don't you think?

Posted using Partiko Android

Fa sho that's why I flagged this for wasting my time 🤗

I am guessing that has become a habit of some sort since we are all happily ranting on steem for a year now 😌

Posted using Partiko Android

If I'm being honest I definitely agree that habitually bitching and moaning without offering any solutions isn't the most efficient means to effect the changes we might wish to see.

Occasionally though it's healthy to vent, rant or offer criticism without feeling obligated to find a solution that may or may not exist. My biggest beef is partiko is my best mobile option and it shits the bed all the time crashing and bugging out. The devs are AWOL MIA and it sucks for me and all the potential mobile users that will never give this place a chance, which in turn sucks for you.

So according to you I need to leave or build a mobile friendly front end, while I'm at I'll make steem engine look like it wasn't designed by a high school student with no budget..

I think you're an intelligent, well informed writer but you went all pompous, arrogant, and holier than thou in this RANT packaged in "constructive criticism " When I'm confronted with someone so obstinate and opinisted to state they don't care about these people or whatever ima def call you out on your toxicity that accomplishes what?

But hell you volunteered that your judgmental and hypocritical which are supposed to be respected? Didn't you say something about being respectable in order to nurture ideas because in your eyes good ideas aren't enough. This also assumes people are too ignorant to see beyond personal bias and acknowledge a good idea without someone being a salesman or pandering to their target audience.

If you think divisive rhetoric is doing steem any favours i don't know what to tell ya. I'm attempting to offer you a critique to be more approachable and not so arrogant but that's up to you to take to heart. I'm blunt too, but I don't make a point to exclude people because I don't agree with their experience at this juncture.. If you close the door that's it. No growth no constructive anything..

I think Nonso's piece had considerable entertainment value.

First of all, I want to start by saying that my time is precious to me and I think yours is to you as well. My time is a limited resource so I have to allocate it properly. So I can't pay attention to anything that will not foster my agenda, which is to grow my steem account and add value to the steem ecosystem doing that. Anything contrary to that is anti-my agenda.

But hey, it's not all about me. We are in a community and it's imperative that I align my goals with that of the communities that mean well for the steem ecosystem.

Speaking about divides. There will always be one. There are people who are pro steem and there are people who are anti steem. I cannot control this. However, my time like I mentioned is important to me so is my investment and it is important I protect it. I know you won't take likely someone invading your privacy or anything precious to you. Well, steem is precious to me and I'm protective of it.

Like you said, habitually rants are welcomed. Even the illogical ones. I have engaged in a few. But making that the entirety of your steem experience is counterproductive and not something anyone should endorse. There are problems here--shit load of them. However, there are opportunities. There should be a balance in your judgment of steem.

I don't like the fact that there is a death Nigerian community here. Most of what I want to achieve is dependent on the community. And most people within the Nigerian communities left because they didn't make it here and it's not necessarily their fault. They put in time work but it just didn't work out. I could blame the poor distribution and whales as I have done in the past but after the said rant what's next? The answer is the solution.

I spend time thinking about how I can make things better in my way rather than on the problem itself because I want to change. I just don't want to talk and dream about it, I want to see it happen. I'm not going to start a community but I can support some.

Everyone has a choice. With my article, I hope to help others make an informed choice. I cannot deny anyone their freedom to troll or rant or be negative. However, I don't see that as the right way to go and if I can make others see that and somehow influence their decision then good.

I can't stop anyone from saying steem is shit but I can disagree with them and make other people see why I feel it is wrong.

In all honesty, I really can't come here every day to read why steem is going to die and still continue. That makes me a fool. If I know something is going to harm me and I continue doing that same thing then I'm a fool. And I don't think of myself as a fool. Maybe I'm wrong who knows

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I actually don’t mind them as perspectives add value to our thought process as well. Whether some go too far or not is really up to how confident we each are with our own thoughts. Having different points of view can help us with our biases.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got a 11.05% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @nonsowrites! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04