Three Years on the Blockchain

in #palnet5 years ago

My third anniversary on the STEEM blockchain has recently passed. It has been interesting watching the STEEM experiment grow and evolve over that time.

It took me over a year to shake my stalker status and actually post something! That first post can be largely attributed to the proddings of @lyndsaybowes. Thanks for providing the needed kick in my digital pants, Lynds!

It was not long after that first post that the process of leaving corporate social media began. My Facebook account usage was toned down to the point of simply posting the links to my STEEM post on Facebook, until finally deleting my Facebook account all together last year.

My feeling is that my contribution to the STEEM project is less likely to be in the creation of posted content as it will be in some form of software development. With a plan for a dApp in mind, and a new laptop with python3 and the steem-python library installed, that software contribution may be achieved sooner rather than later.

Steem On!!!

Sort:  

Good job leaving FB. I'm banned now permanently (for criticizing censorship). MediKatie is working on leaving. We have to wind down a lot of projects, pages, groups, photo albums, and other uploaded content. We've been busy there for a while. But yeah, it's not a good place. Not at all.

It has been a genuine releaf leaving; though my engagement there was totaĺly for social reasons. It's understandable that you would want to get your traffic redirected first.

BTW, just watched your BC Bud video. Some sweet looking product! 👍😎

Happy Steemiversary, I'm so happy you are here, and still kickin' ass <3 <3 <3 WOOT!

Digital pants kicker!

Thanks Lyndsay! 😎

Awesome, congratulations on three years strong and I’m super excited to see what you produce for a dapp - be sure to let me know when it launches 🚀 !COFFEEA

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @c0ff33a. Hoping to keep everything out in the open source. 😎

I never used Facebook that much... The only service I use is messenger. I unfortunately cannot shake that one easily. Our class has a group on there and I just need it to function in school.

I have not logged in to Facebook in around 6 months, and when I did it was to vote on something for a friend.

I respect the idea of leaving Facebook :)

Good luck steeming in the future

Posted using Partiko Android

Although first registered on Facebook in 2009, it wasn't until my country's federal election in 2015 that found me active on a daily basis. It must be much harder for many people to leave the platform and their contacts behind than it was for me.

Congrats mate! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend!

Oooooo I'm super curious about your dapp! Any hints? :D
Happy Steemiversary!

Happy Steemiversary!

Thankey you. 😎

Any hints?

My hope is to run it from a Community when they get here (HF22 maybe?). Otherwise it might lead to me being tarred and feathered off The Chain.

I'm super curious...

Did that help? 😆

NO now I'm just MORE curious! LOL. It's pretty hard to get tarred and feathered here! XD

NO now I'm just MORE curious! LOL.

That was my fear. 😎

LOL

Congratulations on your third anniversary. That is awesome!

My warmest congratulations your huge milestone in steem journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much, @madushanka!

Congrats and keep us posted on the new development. I started to learn python, installed the needed stuff and started tutorial and practice them gave up to the million others things falling on my head from everywhere. It's fun to work with and to see the fruit of your work there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, libraries like steem-python certainly do the heavy lifting. Hoping to Open Source any success that may be had along the way. 👍😎

Congrats on your 3 yr. Steem Anniversary!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73